My heart is heavy.  I ache for the people of Haiti.  I don’t know anyone personally, but can only imagine the deep pain and agony they are experiencing. Their terrible plight in the aftermath of this devastating earthquake is all over the news, worldwide.  The stories keep coming in…  I imagine being there and desperately trying to hear word of those I love – are they safe?  Did they survive?  I imagine trying to take care of my family – where do I get water?  where do I get food?  How do I calm down their fears?  Where do we sleep?  How will we rebuild?  Will it ever be normal again?    I imagine hearing the cries of torment of those buried and the anguished cries of those discovering their family, friends, neighbors and others who didn’t make it.

I spoke with a friend at Compassion International’s headquarters this morning and they are still anxiously trying to establish a line of communication with their staff there.  Read more here.  It’s hard to really FEEL what is happening in Haiti.  The news reports tug on our hearts, but then we go about our days and sleep in our comfy beds and tend to forget.  I’ll be the first to admit that I do this.  But I am asking God to keep these people on my mind.  To guide me in how to pray for them.  To show me if I can help in a practical way. 

Pat Robertson made comments that were very disturbing.  What infuriates me most is that it sends a message to everyone that all Christians think this way.  I have been digesting his comments and have been wondering what kind of response I could say.  In the meantime I found Donald Miller (author of Blue Like Jazz and other books) had posted a response.  He very wisely articulates much of my own thoughts.  I encourage you to read his words, here:   It’s easy to just sit confounded in anger.  It’s harder to really think through the comments and check your own spirit – the solution isn’t to hate the hateful, but to bring perspective, God’s perspective.  I’m still working through that.

I encourage you to investigate ways you can be a part of relief aid.  Prayer, obviously, but are there other things you can do?  Here’s a few options to research in case you need them (there are hundreds more):

Compassion International - Haiti:  Massive earthquake has created chaos and destruction in Haiti. Children and families are in need.
Catholic Relief Services: Address and mail checks to: The Archdiocese of Detroit CRS Relief Efforts (4th Floor) 1234 Washington Blvd., Detroit 48226; donate online by clicking the link at the beginning of this paragraph, or call 800-736-3467.
American Red Cross: Go to the Web site by clicking the link at the beginning of this paragraph and find out how to donate and other ways to help, or call 800-REDCROSS.
About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Jason says:

    It’s Neva, not Jason. Thanks for this reminder. I too have really struggled with being in my “normal” world with every need met and seeing the juxtaposition of what is going on Haiti. When I tuck Brayden into this soft warm bed all fed and clothed I think about the little babies over there that don’t have a bed, food or water. I guess I will pray, pray, pray. Not sure what else to do. Oh, and one more thing, if one more “Christian” calls mass destruction God’s judgement I am just gonna hurt someone!

Leave a Reply

