…has been taking up weight training.  A good family friend, Jim Sorensen, has graciously agreed to take on showing me the ropes on weight training.  I tried boot camp with Rob.  Made it through half of the bootcamp workout and then woofed my cookies.  No fun!  Plus, the next 2 days I seriously wished someone would just do me in from the pain and agony of sore muscles.  I literally had to pick up my own thighs with my very own sore arms and hands and help my thighs work the rest of my legs to go up our stairs at home.  Turning over in bed required all the strength and mental stamina I could muster and then I had to sort of lunge propell my body to roll over.  I had to use both hands to lift the milk jug out of the fridge. 

Ok, ok, I know what you’re thinking, “Man, is she out of shape!”  Well, yes, I am, however, the pain and agony of bootcamp soreness is not how I want to get back in to shape at this point.

Weight training is going well so far (well, it’s been 2 days, but anyway…) I do feel the burn, and I am sore after working out, but not to the point where I’m ready to crawl in a hole and die.  I am documenting my trainings so I can watch for improvements and learn how my muscles respond.  I’m surprised how different all the weights have to be for different sets of muscles – it appears there are some muscles who have sneakily been hiding forever so just adding 5 lb weights about do them in.  I appreciate Jim’s patience in teaching me.  I’m learning a ton, and I actually am looking forward to the early morning workouts. 

My favorite comment/encouragement from Jim so far:  “So, you’re not in competition with anyone but yourself, don’t pay attention to what others are doing because there will always be someone who handles more or less weight than you – pay attention to your own body.”  How does he know I’m so competitive?  When using 5 lb weights this morning I sheepishly looked around because it seemed I was definitely a weenie weight lifter, but then I remembered Jim’s wise words.

Here’s to a successful ongoing relationship with weights at the gym.  ;-)

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. Marie says:

    Yea for you! I wish I was so brave. The thought of walking into a gym scares me to death. Keep up the good work. M

  2. Jeanie says:

    You are so funny…sore arms picking up sore thighs. Hahhahaha! Rob, how could you?

Leave a Reply

