Memorial Day, 2006. Early this morning my husband woke me up at 5:30 a.m.  Who does that? Apparantly it was time to get ready to head up to Boulder for the Bolder Boulder Race.  After much debate the night before, I finally decided I would go watch him run.  My daughter Elise graciously agreed to go with me (I laid on a pretty thick guilt trip) so we sleepily got dressed and drove to meet our friends, the Wakefields and Hamiltons so we could trek over to CU Stadium with them to watch our runners enter the home stretch and cheer them on. 

Rob, Dan, Scott, Randy, Joe and Dave have been looking forward to this morning for a long time.  Many months of training went into their preparation…Rob would often say, "Babe, I'm just heading out for a little 5 mile run!"  Whatever!  Who does that?  The past few days have been all about watching food intake and paying close attention to hydrating bodies to be in the best shape possible to run the race.  Last night was the final preparation and we headed over to the Giffords so Dan, Dave and Rob could load up on carbs.  Just to be difficult, I ate a very scrumptious brownie right in front of them since they couldn't have one.  I know, MEAN, but I had to — why do I find joy in doing stuff like that? Hmmm….could it be that I grew up with three older brothers??? Another story, another time….so, on with this blog's post…

The Bolder Boulder is a 10K race. It's a crazy race!  Streets are lined with people – bands play on the sidelines, belly dancers dance on the sidelines, it's very entertaining! Here's some of the costumes I saw:  Cave Man, Ballerina, Lobster, a version of Nacho Libre(?), green wigs, pink wigs, gorillas, bananas, princesses, masked characters, and more.   

There was a "bride to be" running with her wedding veil trailing in the wind.  One father ran with his baby in his arms, cradled like he was just sitting rocking the baby.  Probably not too safe, but it looked cool! There were grandmothers, grandfathers, children, people who looked in fantastic shape, others who had to be carried away on stretchers. 

My friend Marie and I decided we were best suited for cheering the racers, rather than joining them.  We especially thought so after we saw a couple of our friends hobbling across the finish line.  We waited at the end of the stadium watching for each of them to come around the final corner to enter the stadium…sadly our friends weren't in costume, but wore very ordinary clothing which blended in quite well with the other thousands of runners…what were they thinking?  It was hard work trying to spot them and cheer them on!  We were very winded after all the effort.  And, just to keep our cheering skills up (and to avoid boredom in the long stretches of waiting) we randomly called out names and said, "Go, Bob!  Good job, you can do it."  Occasionally we were right on with the names and strangers would gratefully look up at us with a "Wow, they're cheering for me!" look in their eyes.  You might think we're crazy, but it was fun and I believe we found our calling…"Professional Cheerers".

So, I could tie post up with a very spiritual analogy on running the race set before us, or tell you I was inspired to run because of the incredible courage and spirit I saw in the eyes of those who ran this year…but nope, these are just random thoughts about my experience today at the Bolder Boulder.  Use them to entertain you, if you wish.

 CAK

P.S.  Should I get inspired, however, I have 364 days to train for next year's race.  Will I be a runner?  Cheerer?  Hmmmm….time will tell.

P.P.S.  By the way, Dan, Rob, Scott, Randy, Joe and Dave —- way to go!  I was proud of all of you!!!!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

5 responses »

  1. Dan says:

    Hey, welcome back to the blog world (even though I myself am probably considered a temporary resident here rather than a citizen)! I always enjoy reading your thoughts. And thanks so much for being there today to cheer us on! You rock! 🙂

    I’m looking forward to more thoughts from CAK…keep them coming!

  2. Mariana says:

    Hey Carol Ann!
    I am SO glad that you are one of those regular people like me – people that don’t run 10 Km!! I say you should just keep being a cheerer, so we can work on that together next year! 🙂
    It was fun to read your post!

  3. optionalg says:

    i love how you write… hope to saang wif you again soon

    ckim

  4. HOW COME YOU DIDN’T INVITED ME???
    I would be there giving this running people a hard time, uh oh, should I say motivation?!, with you…
    Next year I will help (I am already inviting myself, so is less work for you!) and I will take chocolates for us, so we can have more energy…
    Mariana, come soon! I miss you…
    Carol you are like we say in Brasil: SHOW!

  5. […] paid off  — as for me, well, again, I felt like I made a difference in the cheering section – just like last year!  […]

Leave a Reply

