Several months ago I was on my way to church for a rehearsal for the Worship Team.  As I always do, I looked over at the mountains for my daily inspiration.  I couldn't see them.  It was a cloudy day and they were covered.  The mountains always fill my heart with such joy – they remind me of God's creativity, His mystery, His majesty….so many things fill my mind when I see them.  Plus, living here in Colorado and seeing these Rocky Mountains day after day – what a canvas and testimony to God.  They are always changing!  I have seen them at just about every minute of the day – sunrises, sunsets and everything in between.  Snow-capped, purple, or shadowed.  It never gets old for me.  When I am away from home, flying in or driving in my first "Yep, I'm home" feeling comes from seeing the mountains.

So, not seeing them on this morning, I was bummed.  But then, God reminded me that it doesn't take mountains to see Him in my life!  I mulled over that thought, and immediately the words to this song tumbled into my mind:

I CAN SEE YOU 

I can see you when the wind blows, I can feel you on a cloudy day

For you have given me Your word, Lord.  It's my compass for my day.

I can see you when the storm blows, and the rain is beating down

For you have told me in Your word, Lord, You're my shelter all around.

For You have promised You're with me.  You have promised Your hand

To guide me through every day, Lord.  You're my shelter in every storm. 

I can see You in my darkness, shining through the blackest night

A lamp You've given in Your word, Lord, making every pathway light.

I can see You when the day breaks, You've been with me all along

For You've given me Your word, Lord.  It's what inspires every song.

For You have promised You're with me.  You have promised Your hand

To guide me through every day, Lord.  You're my shelter in every storm. 

Is He your shelter in every storm?  I pray you have found that comfort in Him.

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Kathy says:

    Thanks, CAK….I needed that.

Leave a Reply

