My brother said I’d need glasses once I turn 40.  Recently I am squinting more and have trouble reading very fine print unless I hold that paper out at arms length.   Hmmm….  My good friend, Judy Thomas loaned me her “reading glasses” to see if they would help (she mentioned that they may not be great because they’re a step or two above the baseline help number).  I tried them and gasped with astonishment!  I could see so much better!  Accepting the facts after a long time of denial is the first step to recovery, right?  Okay, okay….I’ll make an appointment with the eye doctor.  (Only maybe it was because I was extremely tired?) 

Well…I turn the big 40 today!  It’s wierd.  Many people panic when this birthday approaches.  I feel okay – in fact it is a bit hilarious to me…kind of like, “wow, I’m 40, how did that happen!”  

I googled “turning 40” just to see what’s out there for me now… one website said: Having fun may be the overriding passion of midlife. We fear loss of youth and with it the loss of youth’s joys. But fun is not something we must lose along with hair or muscle mass. In fact, midlife can be the most enjoyable time of life yet. Here is your chance to prove it. Fun has always been on my agenda…good to know it can stay there!  (…but what about that word, “midlife”  am I really in that category now?  Yikes) There was more from another website — my responses in parenthesis…. In biblical terms the numerical number 40 has significant meaning. Think of the 40 days and 40 nights of rain floods. It took the Israelites 40 years to find the Promised Land, and Jesus spent 40 days in the desert before his crucifixion. Maybe it takes 40 years to grow into an awesome woman. You are about to enter the most amazing time in your life. The past 40 years were all about preparation. Now you are both credible and incredible. 40 is the pivotal power age and here is why:

  • You can become a doctor or lawyer and still have time left to practice. (NOPE)
  • You can fall in love like a teenager and still have the time to grow up. (I’M LIVING THIS OUT ALREADY WITH THE MAN OF MY DREAMS – WHO I DID LITERALLY FALL IN LOVE WITH AS A TEENAGER!)
  • You can marry a younger man without first having a facelift (NOPE)
  • You can have your first wedding anniversary (TWENTY FIRST IS JUST FINE WITH ME)
  • You can have children and still have the time to raise them (I’M GOOD WITH THE THREE I HAVE)
  • You can shop at Victoria Secret without looking silly (INTERESTING….LET ME THINK ABOUT THAT ONE…..HMMMM, NOPE) 
  • You can move to another country and still have the time to make it your home (ROB – I’M THINKING IRELAND?)
  • You can take up a new sport without worrying about arthritis (YEAH – I’VE WANTED TO START SHUFFLE BOARDING!)
  • You lived long enough to be sure about some things (YEAH, THE MORE SURE I AM, THE MORE I SEE HOW MUCH I’M NOT SURE OF)
  • You can say what you want and others will listen (FINALLY – THE RESPECT I DESERVE, HA!)
  • You can still have fun without being medicated (THAT’S NO FUN!)
  • You can do something that you have never done in your life. (I WONDER IF ROB WILL LIKE HANG GLIDING OFF THE GRAND CANYON?)

Random things I found about “turning 40″…I owe Madonna and Demi Moore a thank you as they have made “40” the new “30”!  Who knew?

Well, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the ride so far!  Here’s to another 40! Go out and celebrate life for me today! 

Blessings to all – Carol Ann

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

4 responses »

  1. maxine morarie says:

    Taking a page from Rob’s book, here are forty things that I associate with Carol Ann Morarie Kelly:

    1.-Carolina/Mina
    2.-Carol Anita
    3.-Baby sister
    4.-smiles
    5.-determination
    6.-a “great game player” (from the “greatest game player”), competitive
    7.-yellow and grey
    8.-ducks and the expression “that’s duckie”
    9.-accepting
    10.-encourager
    11.-friendly
    12.-collector of blue depression glass
    13.-whimsical
    14.-organized (try moving things out of place on a table where you’re talking with her)
    15.-uninhibited worshiper
    16.- rubies
    17.- fiercely loyal
    18.-sharing
    19.-Daddy’s girl
    20.-Mommy’s girl
    21.-can-do-girl
    22.-compassionate
    23.-objective
    24.-former good pouter
    25.-earthquakes
    26.-strong winds
    27.-piano
    28.-talent that doesn’t stop
    29.-suma cum laude
    30.-entertaining
    31.-as a musician
    32.-as a funny story girl
    33.-as a party giver
    34.-as a Bible teacher
    35.-tender-headed
    36.-looks cute with her hair tied in a tight pony tail on top of her head (ha)
    37.-hard worker
    38.-best wife ever
    39.-best mom ever
    40.-best daughter ever

  2. Congratulations! The eye-sight thing is a pain in the neck but you are right, your 40’s is pretty good!

  3. Chris says:

    You’re awesome, Carol Ann!! Happy Birthday, we love you!

  4. Donna says:

    Happy Birthday, Carol Ann! I’ve been 40 for 5 years now and it’s not so bad. You wear it well!!

Leave a Reply

