Yesterday for my birthday we (Rob and I) ended the day by going to Red Rocks for a great concert (along with thousands of other fans) featuring….

The Counting Crows (you gotta love the hair)

 Counting_Crows_umvd007.jpg

and

Goo Goo Dolls

Goo-Goo-Dolls-01.jpg

We had a fabulous time.  My surprise was that we had seats in the 3rd row, which really became the 2nd row because everyone in the 1st and 2nd rows got to stand in front of the stage.  (Actually, our seats were better – you could see much better over everyone’s heads that were crowding the stage.)

Eventful/Funny things that happened:

  • We packed a back pack full of rain gear, our sweatshirts, water bottles….we were sooooo prepared!  We got there, opened the trunk and found we left the backpack at home!
  • It took us FOREVER to get there because of a bad accident on I-70…we took the scenic route through Wheat Ridge and finally by passed all the traffic.
  • Rob made “friends” with an interesting kid standing nearby!  He was a little over the cusp (if you know what I mean) and kept talking to Rob:  “Hey man, this is the first time I’ve seen the Goo Goo Dolls!  Did you know the Counting Crows are on next? Dude….”  My favorite part was watching him try to clap and keep time with the songs!
  • We were so close to the stage, I tried to take a picture with my cell camera phone, didn’t have the settings right and managed a fabulous shot of the couples “behinds” sitting right in front of us.  At least I have this wonderful memory of the concert!  🙂

att398742.jpg

Red Rocks has to be the most beautiful place ever to hear a concert.  The weather ended up being perfect…didn’t even need the blankets we did grab from our trunk.  Plus I got to spend the whole evening hanging out with my favorite person in the whole world….Rob!

What’s your favorite concert you’ve seen at Red Rocks?  We’ve seen many….Nora Jones, Josh Groban, Huey Lewis and The News, DC Talk (back in the day) and a whole lot more.  We have plans for at least a couple of others yet this season – Bonnie Raitt/Keb Mo and The Celtic Women.

 

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

5 responses »

  1. I have only seen a few concerts at Red Rocks. One of the most memorable was The Nylons and The Roaches.

  2. Robbin says:

    Hey Mama!

    I have only seen DC Talk at red rocks…… remember the leg cramp incident? yeah it was great until then. By the way I think that the fact that that is the only concert I have been to at red rocks there is is problem because I was like 9, so I think you need to take me to more concerts or something…. just a thought.

  3. marixina! says:

    …goo goo dolls is the best musik band in the word men!
    and my favorit song ever is IRIS!
    GOO-GOO DOLLS U RULE!

  4. marixina! says:

    GOO-GOO DOLLS U RULE!!!!!
    luv ya!

  5. tom says:

    You got to see DC Talk at red rocks. best venue and best band! Do you have any pics?

Leave a Reply

