I have been spending time in the book, “To Fly Again” by Gracia Burnham.

 

Summary: Gracia Burnham shares lessons on surviving the tailspins of life.
Description:
In her warm, conversational style, Gracia addresses difficult challenges and inspires hope. Drawing on her hostage experiences in the jungles of the Philippines, and her choice to embrace life after the death of her husband, Martin, you’ll discover encouragement for the trials you face.

In the chapter 3, she says, “When life spins out of control for us, we find out who we truly our.  We may have to redefine ourselves.  We may have to face the fact that our belongings and assumptions have propped us up to a precarious degree.  At such times life is a matter of “just us,” with no embellishments…What defines us in good times and bad is not what we have but who we are.  Those who have been made sons and daughters of the KING [Jesus Christ] should not be measured by temporal accessories.”

Many of us haven’t been in a situation that strips away any control we may have, limits all of our resources, and isolates us from all comfort zones – creating the need to ONLY depend on God.  If you have, you can relate deeply to Gracia in this book.  Those who I have spoken with that have been to this place of complete dependence on God will often tell you that though they wouldn’t have necessarily chosen the circumstances that led them there, are at the same time extremely grateful to have experienced the sweet place of knowing a taste of the complete dependence on God.  

Are you brave enough to pray for that?  For God to lead you through a place where the only survival emotionally is to ONLY depend on God?  I am not sure that I am…it’s a very compelling thing to think about.  The other thing is, we have access to the “sweet place of complete dependence on God” right now, without having to endure a deeply painful journey, but we don’t take advantage of it!    It reminds me of Paul’s dilemma:

Romans 7 :17 – 21

17As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature.[c] For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 20Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.

 21So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me.

I find that I am strengthened and motivated so much by the testimony of what God is doing in other’s lives.  It was inspiring to read Gracia’s second book of how she is learning to live out her “second half” life (read the last chapter of this book).  I am also inspired by the day to day contact with other believers who are on this life journey with me – learning, failing, winning, stumbling, running, celebrating, mourning….God in His wisdom knew that although we have access to complete dependence on Him, which is ultimately the best thing ever, we have the added bonus of being strengthened by our brothers and sisters in Christ.

(Wow – another rambling post…but again, it’s what I’ve been thinking about lately!)

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Donna says:

    You get the Lifeology Professor hat recently. I’ve been swimming in the shallow end lately, so thanks for your words to draw me back into Deeper Waters….

Leave a Reply

