Quick post to just admit I am a lousy videographer – at least with my camera/video phone. 

used motorola cell phonesused motorola cell phonesused motorola cell phonesused motorola cell phonesused motorola cell phonesused motorola cell phonesused motorola cell phones

Over the past two weeks I’ve had the opportunity to video cool things – the “wow, I should so capture this moment on video” moments have been amazing. So, confidently I whip out the trusty cell phone, punch a bunch of buttons, get it ready to video and then I video away….at least I think I am videoing…nope, I’ve managed to video my feet, random cars whizzing by, etc….capturing everything but the main thing I intended to capture!  Grrr! 

  • I missed my friend Paul’s fun portrayal of a 70’s guy fleeing across the street when he was in full costume for a Dare 2 Share video shoot…I did get some great footage of the pavement though.
  • I’ve missed my friend Molly’s fun 70’s portrayal with her big fro and all…I captured instead some cool side shots of some random parked vehicle.
  • Tonight I had the privilege of being at a baptism at a lake.  I confidently went through the video process (thinking to myself) surely I’ve mastered the stupid video function by now….all was well, I captured Dan (the baptizer) and Rob S. (the baptizee) in the lake, everything was rolling and then …[weird sounds, a thumb appears on the screen and….blackout] …again, I captured everything but the moment!

I think I’ll start a collection for a great DVD – it will be called Everything BUT the Moment, captured live….a collection of almost moments.  I guess it leaves the mystery and intrigue for the viewer…the whole “you finish the moment” plan.  

Warning:  Do not, I repeat, do not have me be your videographer for anything, unless of course you crave clips that never resolve and leave you hanging….hmmm! 

I’m enrolling in Cell Phone Videography 101 tomorrow!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. Life goes like that sometimes….

    It was fun to watch the baptism!

  2. optionalg says:

    haa..haaaa .. i was laughing so hard last night. i think i popped a stitch. i just worte about the antics of the bbq too

  3. Donna says:

    My phone has 1. Call Somebody 2. Hang up 3. Store a Number 4. Retrieve a stored number. I like it. It’s like an on or off light switch – a dimmer just gets me confused….I watched you get the baptism non-video….I was hoping for success. See what happens when you turn 40???

Leave a Reply

