Another post from my friend Randy Carter, who, by the way really needs to start his own blog – don’t you agree?

       

Friday morning I went for an early morning run. I started out going West and there were hundreds of clouds. As sometimes happens, the clouds in the West were lit up with colors that only God could create. I was admiring them as I ran toward the Colorado mountains. Then I turned and headed East. If the western clouds along the mountains were breathtaking, then the view of the clouds with the sun breaking through in the East was spectacular.

I have always appreciated Gods beauty, but on this morning God spoke to me. With every step I took the beauty diminished. As the sun rose the bright colors dimmed. “Beauty is fleeting” God told me. Sometimes it  only lasts for seconds.

First God impressed upon me not to get caught up in the physical beauty of people. If you fall in love with that, you will be sorely disappointed. The physical beauty will dim and you had better have something much deeper to hold you.

Second, God impressed upon me the same message, “Beauty is fleeting.” Stop and watch a sunset. Stop to smell the rose. There will never be another sunset or sunrise like the one you saw today. The beauty of your children is fleeting also. They will grow and be gone. Grandchildren, or parents and our friends. The beauty, that is there lives, will sometime be gone. Enjoy every moment while God gives us the opportunity.

I realize that nothing in this is original. But when God reminds me of something, I want to stop and listen to His beauty. 

Friendships are dear ..today and everyday we should stop and enjoy the beauty of our friendships, the fact that God places friends in our lives should make us so grateful to Him for doing so.

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

Leave a Reply

