iPod, Rest in Peace!

Yesterday I logged on to the website for the Apple Store at Flatirons..and I made an appointment at the Genius Bar.  Robbin went with me for moral support.  I gently laid my iPod on the counter, explaining to the resident iPod Genius, Jason, what had happened to my iPod.  He listened patiently, then he took the iPod and turned it on.  The pitiful little Apple icon flashed a couple of times, valiantly trying to stay alive.  Then the sad iPod icon flashed on and stayed on the screen.  “Hmmmm…”  Jason said.  Then he put the iPod up to his ear, listening intently to the back of it.  (I almost tried to be funny, saying something like, “Uh, Jason, it’s an iPod, not a cell phone!” but then I saw the intense look on Jason’s face and I quickly retired the idea.)  After a few minutes, Jason leaned across the counter and gently said, “I’m sorry, the hard drive is fried! There’s nothing we can do.”  Who knew you could diagnose the problem by listening to it like a cell phone.  Hmmm.  I sucked in my breath, pasted a fake smile on my face, stifled my tears and squeaked, “Thank you for letting me know.”  With as much dignity as I could muster, I grabbed my little friend, Ms. iPod and stuffed her back into my purse. As a parting word of comfort (?), Jason reminded me that I could save 10% on a new iPod!

So, for now, I am saving up my pesos.  In the meantime, I will somehow continue to survive this iPodless state.  🙂  Warning to Rob, Bethany, and Elise, though, guard your iPods, I just may need to “borrow” one soon!

For those who have put up with this iPodless saga, thank you.  For those who have had enough…it’s your lucky day, this is my last post about the iPod, at least I think it is, for now…probably.  🙂

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

6 responses »

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about the ‘Pod. The saga does, however, make me look a little closer at the nano.

    Good Luck!

  2. optionalg says:

    if you are really nice to me (which you are) and really need it (seems like you are hooked bad) and you are gonna go through withdrawl pains (which this millioneth post seems to indicate..) you can borrow one of mine.. or even the shuffle that i have.. let me know

  3. optionalg says:

    oh yeah… and i would wait and get this (microsoft zune) … not to be apple hate’n .. cause i r

  4. Jenny Freyta says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your sad loss, Carol Ann. I know I can offer no real words of comfort to ease your grief. But know that you are in my prayers. 🙂

  5. Dave says:

    If you need some therapy let me know. At least you got to enjoy yours for a while. For the longest time I couldn’t figure out how to turn my I Pod off, so the battery would run out within a couple of hours and I would need to get it back to it’s dock for recharging. I sort of gave up on using it. Now I know the secret to turning it off. I should think about taking it out of its dock again.

  6. randy says:

    Seriously Carolann, that is funny.

Leave a Reply

