Today is the day I set aside to “whip the house into shape”

…..it’s been sadly neglected due to busy lives, schedules, better offers, and, well, just plain old PROCRASTINATION.  See, it’s not my favorite thing to do.  And, I rationalize about it….if I clean it, it will just get dirty again before the end of the day!  The girls and Rob have been solicited to help me (note definition #2!)  It’s not their favorite thing either. 

Rob is actually the best “house-cleaner extraordinaire”….he really cleans, scours things, baseboards, things I glance at at flit over with the duster.  He organizes things in the closets, I think closets were made so you can shove things into them and hide them.  🙂    Ah, yes, a match made in heaven.  At least over the years we’ve found a groove and understand each other.  I wish the groove was “you clean, I’ll cheer you on” ….like when he runs in races.  But, it doesn’t work that way.

Rob is also better at laundry than I am.  I’d like to think it’s because where I grew up we actually used the old-fashioned wringer washer machines (quite a process) and then had to hang laundry out on the clothesline.

It was an all day process and weather was always a fun factor!  The clothes smelled great when they came in off the line…but getting in to stiff line-dried jeans (they’d stand up all on their own) that was always entertaining… One time in our married life I actually burned our clothes in the dryer.  Most wives burn food sometime in their early married life…that’s right, I burned/singed the clothes.  I think the dryer was going out…but still, who burns their husband’s clothes?  Brother!  So, Rob gently “took over” the laundry-ness of our house.  It’s wonderful. 🙂  I occassionally will lend a hand, which usually elicits panic from the girls, “Mom’s not doing the laundry is she?”  You’d think they’d seen a ghost of something.  I assure their pale little faces that it’s just the towels, or something similar.  (Actually it’s all their dry-cleaning only clothes they keep buying….mooohhhaaahaa! Just kidding.)

Back to the original subject of housecleaning – Sometimes to get motivated, I’ll buy a bunch of cool smelling and looking cleaning supplies.  That works for five minutes.  And, usually the combination of the smells makes me either really “happy” (wink, wink) or really sick. 

Other times to ward it off a little longer I’ll have a marvelous excuse, like posting a new blog post!  Ha!

Ok, I’m done, I’m out of excuses, I’ve procrastinated for 2 months, it’s time, I must, I will, I’m going….any better offers anyone?

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. Scott says:

    I pretty much tried to mess up everything so I wouldn’t have to do anything. It didn’t work.

  2. Donna says:

    While in college I actually had a couple housecleaning jobs. I learned the “toxic” way that ammonia and bleach don’t go together in the same room. I used to think that more was better…more stuff, more smells, more applications…Now, it’s amazing how much you can clean with Windex!

Leave a Reply

