Austin, TX – Youth Specialties Convention is now over.  It was a good experience.  The president of Dare 2 Share, Greg Stier, where I am privileged to work, did a great job as a General Session speaker.  He was very inspiring to the youth leaders there and I probably had a few little tears of joy and thanksgiving for the opportunity slip down my cheek as I listened and reflected on the journey God has given us at Dare 2 Share.    I also chuckled several times over the stories Greg shared (those on our team could quote the punch lines..”and that’s just the women”, etc.) but it was a new audience with great appreciation for the humor.  Bottom line, youth leaders were inspired to take their youth ministries seriously and to re-engage in the Great Commission – sharing the gospel, an ancient principle that is still just as important to follow today as it was when Jesus commanded it!  (The principles Greg shared were taken from his book Ministry Mutiny – everyone who attended the session received a complimentary copy.)

I have a soft spot in my heart for youth leaders (Rob and I were in youth ministry over 15 years) I remember the challenges. I remember the highs and lows.  It was such a joy to be able to talk with youth leaders this past weekend and to provide them with words of encouragement.  “Way to go!”  “Don’t give up!”  “Here’s a resource that can help!”  “God sees your heart and he’s proud of you!”  All too often they hear the opposite.  “What are you doing?”  “Fix my kid.”  “Why do you have to change the schedule, it’s not convenient for me now.”  “The music is too loud.” and on, and on. 

Here’s my challenge to my blog readers.  If you know of someone in youth work, be an encouragement to them today!  Consider sending them an email, mailing them a note.  You could even get creative and include a gift certificate to Amazon.com – youth leaders love music, love books…or a gift certificate to a restaurant.  They work hard, their hours are usually looonnnggg.  They deal with a generation that is facing very difficult things  — the recent tragic school shootings have reminded me of that.  Even if you don’t have a student in their ministry, you can still be an encouragement!  So, will you do it?  I DARE you!  

I’ll start…

BRANDON AND ERIK at Northern Hills,

Brandon and Erik – please know that you have my respect and admiration for the hours and hours of ministry you pour into the lives of the students at Northern Hills! I have been and will continue to pray for you and your wives.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the hours of sacrifice and for the willingness to be there for students, especially my girls – the investment in their lives means so much to me and I am thankful they have your influence in their lives.  Please continue to be courageous and bold as you inspire students in Hydro and Riptide to live their lives for Christ!  You both ARE MAKING A HUGE IMPACT in God’s kingdom!…..Love you guys, CAK

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Donna says:

    I have great admiration for people who have passion about their ‘thing’. You have it, and you pass it around.

Leave a Reply

