randydarly-001.jpg randydarly-006.jpg randydarly-004.jpg randydarly-002.jpg

My life is getting richer and richer with all the Brazilian friendships that have happened over the past year. 

There’s Darly – Darly is finally here!  For over a year we have been praying for my friend Randy’s wife, Darly, to be able to get her paperwork processed so she could join us.  Randy left a little over a week ago to bring her HOME and yesterday, they arrived!  You can see from the smiles on the greeting committee’s faces and on Randy and Darly’s faces that it was a very exciting moment!

Darly, we welcome you with open arms and open hearts!  We love you and are so happy you are here.

There’s Mariana – In one week, Rob and I and a bunch of our friends are heading to Brazil ourselves to visit with Mariana and her family.  Mariana is our good friend Dan’s fiance.  She lives a couple of hours outside of Rio de Janeiro in Juiz de Flora – I think I spelled that correctly 🙂  I can’t wait for the day I’m back at the airport anxiously waiting for Mariana and Dan to come up the escalators as they arrive HOME!

There’s Carol – Carol met Mariana while she was in the United States and now she and her terrific husband, Chad, are in our weekly church small group.  We have so enjoyed getting to know them and are looking forward to many more great moments together. 

And, today, I met another Brazilian friend, Luciana, and her husband at our church.  Friends of Chad and Carol.  I haven’t had the opportunity to get to know them, yet.

I can see God orchestrating all these connections for some greater purpose and I am excited to be a part of it.  Maybe we can start a Brazilian service at our church? 

I am trying to learn Portuguese.  I have an advantage since I can understand a great deal because I speak fluent Spanish, however, I get pretty tangled up trying to respond.  For our trip to Brazil I’ve decided I’ll have the following conversation:

“Hello, how are you.  Very well, thank you. I speak just a little Portuguese.  You’re welcome” …and that’s the extent of my vocabulary, however, Dan taught me  a Portuguese worship song, so I guess I could begin quoting that!  It might be strange telling people that they are “my oxygen” – “my universe” – “my endless love” – but hey, I’m speaking Portuguese! 🙂

P.S.  Anyone have a “you have to do/see/eat/experience this” while in Brazil?

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. Mariana says:

    Carol Ann, você é meu oxigênio, meu universo!
    Palavras me faltam, não sei o que dizer! ahhahaha! 😉
    You are the funniest portuguese speaker ever!!You did such a great job though! You’ll be soon preaching in our “brazilian service”!! that would be like heaven! 🙂
    “beijos”!

  2. Debb says:

    I finally got to read some of your blog. It was great to see you making so many great friends in Brazil! Can’t wait to hear from you face-face! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

