I love Thanksgiving.  The night before my daughter Elise and I begin cooking up a storm.  This year we made (chicken, rice, asparagus, green beans for dinner…then)  2 pumpkin pies, pumpkin muffins, blueberry muffins, peanut butter cookies, 2 apple pies, seven layer jello salad, and prepared a bunch of taco sides.  We also had fun people to hang out with during our cooking frenzy!  Rob, Robbin, Bethany, Louis, Vera, and Codi all were there.  Codi even pitched in and helped measure flour and stir the jello!  We were so impressed, Codi! 

Today our family and friends are gathering at my sister Julia’s house.  It’s a great time to reconnect with family/friends I haven’t seen in a while.  And, we’ve introduced a new tradition…because not all of our family are turkey lovers, we now have Turkey and Tacos for Thanksgiving.  🙂 All the traditional fixings are there, but we add the fixings for chicken and beef tacos.

Among the other favorites for me are:

Kathy Fodness’ Minnesota Fruit Salad
Randy Carter’s Corn Casserole and Green Bean Casserole
My mom’s Cranberry/Saltine Cracker Salad and her Mashed Potatoes
Julia’s Taco Fixings – she always has the best tasting meat and rice

The day unfolds like this:  We arrive, set up all the food, eat, eat, eat.  Then a discussion begins as to whether or not a few of us can muster up the energy to head out for a game of football.  And of course there are those who can’t move they are so full and they settle in to watch football on TV.  Later in the afternoon the guitars come out – my brothers and I play and everyone joins in singing…we try to find songs we all know – if you remember the 70’s, you’ll fare better on joining in on the songs.  🙂   After we exhaust the song possiblities, we start all over….eat, eat, eat….

But, more important than this great day of traditions and gathering together, it’s a day I truly am reminded how thankful I am. Thankful for God’s blessings to me, often undeserved.  Thankful for my husband and my daughters…my extended family, my friendships, my job, my house, and the list could go on forever.  It is also a day where memories run deep from past Thanksgivings and remembering those who are no longer with us.  And it’s a great day for stories to be retold, each year new twists are added and the stories become more colorful, and new people carry them on to other ears to be retold…

What traditions do you observe for Thanksgiving?

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

Leave a Reply

