Yep, cancelled.  That’s what my friend Dan found out when he went to leave Rio de Janeiro for his long trek home to Colorado – his flight had been cancelled.  He’s been down there visiting his fiance and her family.    I don’t know all the details why the flight cancelled, but I do know it bought him a couple more days with his sweetheart!  (His new flight brings him back to Colorado Wednesday this week instead of Monday.)

I thought about this situation and it made think about this.   I know that when you have to leave, say goodbye, and put great distance between you and others, especially those you love, you often spend your last day making sure you have said EVERYTHING.  You think through the days you’ve had, remember the special moments and make sure that you’re leaving with a clean slate.  You try to make sure there’s no outstanding conversations.  “I love you” is said, or “I’m really sorry” if need be, but the idea is – you’re leaving and want to make sure that things are good between you and the other person.  You even choose words that leave them with hope, “I’ll be back soon” for example.

So, Dan having done all that I’m sure, was in the right frame of mind to leave, he had said all he could say to Mariana.  Then, wonder of wonders, two more unexpected days appear before him to spend with her!  How awesome is that!  I can imagine the smiles on their faces as they realized they had some uncluttered (words had been said) days before them to bask in just being together. (I’m assuming all of this since I haven’t actually had the chance to talk to Dan yet, but I bet I’m close!)

So, what I’m trying to say is – do we (I) live every day making sure it’s like our last – making sure EVERYTHING is said?  The “I love you’s”, “I’m sorry’s”, etc.  Do we (I) practice a life of no regrets?  Do we intentionally pass out hope to others around us, paving the way for them to be reassured of our love in the days to come, no matter what?  If we (I) do this, is it possible that each brand new “unexpected” day can be lived out more fully (after all, everything was said the day before)?

Each new day is an opportunity to keep short accounts with those you love.  Each new day is a brand new unexpected opportunity to laugh and love with others!  We’re often reminded of this when a loved one dies, or something tragic happens, but do we (I) stop and realize that reminders of living this way are all around us – even in cancelled flights?

Dan and Mariana – I hope you’re having the best “2 more days” ever!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. Mariana says:

    We were really happy with the 2 extra days!! I think you know us well enough to guess our feelings! 😉
    Great insights about saying good bye 🙂
    Now we’re going to the airport again… who knows what will happen this time?!?! heheh

Leave a Reply

