My friend, Chris Green, is a very inspirational writer.  Every so often he sends a devotional/thought that he has written.  This one was a great one and so I asked if I could post it on my blog.  Enjoy!

Daddy

7-28-06-daddy-aj-2.jpg

     I’ve not been a father for very long, but in that short time it’s been my experience that life B.C. (before children) and life A.C. (after children) is radically and amazingly different.  Two separate worlds.  So different in fact, that it’s hard for me to remember that other world, the one without my children.  Take the angle through which we view life itself for instance.  Before children friends, family, and other people would share pictures of their babies or tell me about the latest feat their toddler accomplished, or the ever popular, “You would not believe what my kid did the other day…”  I would rejoice with these people and be happy for them, but always in that distant sort of way.  That way that’s polite and genuine, but not fully engaged.  Not really “getting it” because I couldn’t relate.  Well, after having two boys of my own, life has shown this daddy that when it comes to B.C. and A.C. all is different!

      I remember when my first son, Ryan, was born.  What an absolutely indescribable experience!  Every step of the nine months was exhilirating, but when the doctors put my boy in my arms I cried.  I just cried and cried and cried.  I cried my eyes out with pure joy.  I was in awe, relief, thankfulness, praise, glory, and wonder at this precious miracle in my hands.  My thankfulness to God can’t be put in words because they wouldn’t do it justice.  When my second son, A.J., was born a year and a half later, my thankfulness to God was no less, but my human reaction was very different.  I didn’t cry with A.J.  I laughed.  I laughed and laughed and laughed.  I laughed this giddy, uncontrollable, pure, heartfelt laugh of praise to God for another miracle in my life.

     I believe God has a joy that surpasses even these feelings when a child of His turns from their sin and selfish ways and chooses to live for Him.  When a person is redeemed, born again, saved, a heavenly host is celebrating because a victory has just been won over Satan.  Luke 15:10 “In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.”  Children need their daddy and we need our daddy in Heaven.  The word ‘Abba’ in the bible is Aramaic and means father, but in a deeper, more intimate sense, like Daddy.  God’s only son, Jesus Christ, showed His need for His father in Gethsemane when He was embarking on the darkest, most difficult time of His life.  Mark 14:36 “Abba, Father,” he said, “everything is possible for you.  Take this cup from me.  Yet not what I will, but what you will.”  Children need their daddy.

     Numerous studies have been done, surveys taken, and statistics shown over and over that there is brokenness, dysfunction, hurt and loss when a family is without a father.  Likewise, we are broken and dysfunctional without our Heavenly Father.  We are without truth, lost, selfish and greedy.  We hurt others, make poor choices, and are slaves to the sin that encompasses us.  But Jesus can bring us out of despair, out of confusion and darkness.  “I am the way and the truth and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.”  John 14:6.  The apostle Paul makes our need for a father clear in Ephesians 2:1,4  “As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins… But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions…”  Children need their daddy.

     I can recall an uncountable number of times that I would hold my baby boys in my arms and just stare into their precious faces.  The look they give is straight from God Himself.  They are helpless and totally dependent on your love, protection, and nurturing.  This is how we should place ourselves with God; in the hollow of His hands.  Totally dependent.  We are meant to be with our Father God.  We need our Daddy.  God promises Himself to us in 2 Corinthians 6:18 “I will be a Father to you, and you will be my sons and daughters, says the Lord Almighty.” 

     If you’ve not humbled yourself before the Heavenly Father, I encourage you to do so today.  Tell God you’re sorry for your sins and that you want to live a life for Him.  Tell Him how thankful you are that He sent His only son, Jesus, to die on the cross on your behalf.  Tell your Daddy that you need Him and love Him and don’t want to live without Him.  Amen.

Chris Green

Thanks, Chris, and keep writing!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

Leave a Reply

