I started a new tradition last year.  Trying to take after 3 of the world’s famous cinnamon roll makers (Dorothy – my mother-in-law, Timmie – a wonderful woman who put up with Rob and his friends “dropping in” all the time in high school when they were on a food-hunt, and Dianne – my sister-in-law who mastered the art as well) I make cinnamon rolls every Christmas Eve, ready to bake fresh on Christmas morning.  THE FAMOUS RECIPE (used by the above heroines of cinnamon roll making)  yields 4 dozen.  I have to use real yeast and stuff.  I’m not used to it and often peak at the dough with fearful thoughts….”what if it doesn’t rise?  what if it rises too much?  am I really supposed to punch it?” 

Plus this year I made themin the midst of my daughter Elise’s cooking-ness.  Elise is another another  up-and-coming cooker extraordinaire.  So, we were busy yielding:

Cinnamon Rolls / Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies / Dipped Pretzels in White Chocolate (Bethany helped even with that!) /Chocolate Chip Banana Bread / and last, but not least, Regular Banana Bread

Oh yeah, plus, I made our “Morarie Family Traditional Whiskey Shrimp over Rice” for Christmas Eve Dinner in the midst of everything else.  (Don’t worry, we burn off the whiskey after pouring over the sauteed shrimp – and me buying the whiskey – yeah, that’s a fun different story….just imagine me, in a liquor store not knowing much about anything in there, wandering around looking for whiskey – and finding shelves and shelves of options….having to ask for help, yeah, that was fun!) It was delicious and we all felt really happy after we ate…hmmmm…..just kidding.

All this to say, we’re down to a count of:  Cinnamon Rolls – 9 puny ones left, Banana Breads – crust only, Chocolate Cookies – 0, Pretzels – 1 baggie left, Whishkey Shriiiimpsh – GONE 🙂

The Kelly’s are full – the Kelly’s are going to be doing a lot of exercising…at least Rob will.  The rest of us cheer him on!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. Donna says:

    I am thinking that someone must have picked up the bag from my front porch that you dropped off because when I went out there I didn’t see any cinnamon rolls.

  2. optionalg says:

    i want somes…. saggy hash goes well with cinnamon rolls…

    trade recipes.. ???

Leave a Reply

