Spent a big part of the day taking down all the Christmas decorations in the house.  I clipped on the new ‘pod and turned up the volume.  Rob and the girls were out for a while, so I took advantage of being alone and sang at the top of my lungs.  The dogs hid in their beds…but I had fun! 

As I took down all the decorations off the tree I wondered if I should start a box of ornaments for each of the girls?…sort of a starter collection for them to have as they get older and possibly will need their own in the next few years. 

I know some people start a box for their kids when they’re little – we didn’t.  It made me sad to think of some of the ornaments leaving the house…I like that we are still all together.  I’m excited for what the future may hold, but I’m not rushing anything, believe me.  So, I decided to just keep everything together, lumped into one big collection of randomness from over the years. 

We have wierd stuff on our tree, but it’s what’s familiar and makes us laugh every year…like the weird stuffed monkey ornament and the pinecone turkey. Not to be outdone by the amazing tree topper!  Elise (at the age of 2) made it for us…it’s a snoopy-looking-kleenex-pipecleaner-angel-winged-thing.  We love it and lovingly put it into a baggie each year to preserve it for the next year.

Every year I’m very excited to put up the Christmas decor, but I’m just as excited to take it down again.  The clock ticks fast after Thanksgiving…we have to get our Christmas stuff up! I tell my family.  Then, the clock ticks fast after Christmas….we have to take our Christmas stuff down! I tell my family.  There’s a window for the right amount of time for keeping your stuff up – never before Thanksgiving and always down by the New Year!  

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. Donna says:

    Ditto, ditto and ditto….’cept for the stuffed monkey thing – it isn’t creepy like in OZ is it? Our “thing” is that we collect key rings from whereever we go and they then become ornaments – especially the metal ones that swivel. We have a stuffed Koala that “pinches” onto the tree branch – no we didn’t go to Australia, a friend did, so it could be considered cheating…

  2. Tara Powers says:

    I have all my decor down too! Except for the outside…when is the snow going to melt?
    The great thing is that you get to give the girls some ornaments for their own trees but they will always come home for Christmas to enjoy your own silly tree. Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

