My baby, yes, that’s right, my baby turns 16 tomorrow! 

A little “Kelly” history about Elise.  She was actually supposed to be born in Dec. around the 27th – so she was laaattteeee arriving into this world.  Had she been born in December, we would have named her Holly Elise.  But, she knew what was best and Elise Rochelle entered the world January 7th, 1991, instead.  She was a sunshiny baby right from the start.  She was a great sleeper, and always was making the family laugh.  She also terrorized her big sisters – they’d often come shrieking up the stairs when she was just 2 screaming, “Elise is getting us!”  She figured out how to pinch the skin on the back of their arms and drive them crazy!  Because of that, her sisters didn’t always want to play with her.  I’d often tell them, “Make sure you include Elise!”  So, begrudingly they would – Elise became “Comet – the Dog” when they played Full House, and she had to be “Ursula – the Sea Witch” when they played Little Mermaid.  Poor Elise!

Elise knocked me out cold when she was 2.  I was turned around laying on the floor talking to baby Loren, a friend’s son who I was watching at the time, and Elise woke up from her nap, snuck into the room, ran and did a flying leap landing on my head…I saw stars and woke up to her saying, “Mommy, Mommy…..!!!!” her little face peering down anxiously at mine.  I was freaked out, called my brother a bit shaken – he just roared with laughter.  Whatever!

Elise also often hid from me – when Loren was a bit older the two of them would toddle around and get into all kinds of mischief together.  One day I couldn’t find either one of them.  They had removed all the books from a built in shelf we had in the basement and were quietly lying lengthwise along the bottom shelves.  Another day she hid for a really long time from me.  I was frantic – called the neighbors, looked around the neighborhood, was just about to call Rob and the police and she sheepishly came walking into the room.  After I’d check possible hiding place, she’d move there, changing hiding places and never letting me catch her.  The little twerp!

We became extra close after Elise’s 5th grade year – she broke her foot (during the dangerous activity of hoola hooping) and 2 days later broke her wrist – all on her left side.  She couldn’t use crutches because of the foot, so had to scoot around at home and have a wheelchair outside of the house.  I had to help her with everything!  We definitely bonded again!

Now Elise is a beautiful young woman.  She has many talents – she’s a great cook,  she plays piano, sings, and is now learning bass guitar. She scrapbooks, knits, and does all kinds of other amazing things.  She’s a great friend and a great little sister – I haven’t seen her pinch her big sisters in a very long time!

So, as I walk back through memory lane, I am reminded of the HUGE BLESSING she is to me and to our family!  I love you, Leesy!  I pray for your future and know that God has amazing things in store for you!  HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
        

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

5 responses »

  1. optionalg says:

    happy birfday…

    anais used to hide too…. i guess i should blog about it

  2. Donna says:

    Happy Birthday, and many more exciting ones to come!

  3. a2jbigdaddy says:

    Simply beautiful post! You are a great Mom! How wondurful to have such memories.

    Happy Birthday Elise!

  4. Oh boy, that’s a big one! Brace yourself!! 🙂

  5. Jenny Freyta says:

    I love hearing those stories about Leesy! The Comet and Ursula ones especially crack me up every time, I remember doing similar “big sister” bully things to my own baby sister, whose middle name is Elise- crazy! Thank you so much for including us this weekend in her birthday celebrations- it was such a fun weekend! Love you!

Leave a Reply

