Haven’t had “the flu” in a very long time – at least that’s what I’m calling it.  Yesterday, I guess it was my turn.  No fun!!!!  My stomach is very sore from all the “heaving”.  It reminded me how quickly every other concern in life can just not matter anymore when you’re writhing in pain and wish only that someone would rip your stomach out for you.  I have to say that my family was very nice to me during my bout of sickness.  🙂  Rob prayed for me, the girls checked on me, and I felt very loved. 

Here’s one piece of advice should you fall prey to the flu – avoid all food commercials on TV!  Watching people joyfully consume burgers, happily dig in to the latest Denny’s breakfast special, or gleefully bite into the KFC fried greasy special…ugh, not so much!  Also avoid watching any health channel that delights in showing the nitty gritty of any surgery they are attempting for that show…nope, that didn’t help at all!

My recommendation would be:  instead of submitting yourself to the horrors of food commercials and bodily fluids from surgeries on daytime TV, curl up with your iPod.    My new little friend, Mr. Pod, was a great source of comfort for me…I turned on the “easy listening” playlist and slept away the afternoon.

Today the flu is fading into the distance…I feel much better, back to probably 87.735% of normal!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

4 responses »

  1. Jenny Freyta says:

    I couldn’t agree more, stomach flus are the worst! I’m glad you’re feeling better, continue to take it easy! Oh, and I’m so glad you got a new ipod friend. May the old one rest in peace. 😉

  2. a2jbigdaddy says:

    I just prayed for you (12:20pm Friday). I prayed while listening to Hillsong sing “Our God is an Awsome God”.(not on an iPod) I dont like the “flu” either!!!! I am on the 2 year program, and I am on an off year so I am safe..lol!

    Have peace and rest and God bless. Thanks for the card, I love you all!!

  3. hikeoflife says:

    I am glad you are feeling better. Is it time to crank up some U2 yet?

  4. optionalg says:

    i gave you SARs and birdflu… i laced the ipod

Leave a Reply

