Webster’s says: 

Main Entry: 1fog
Pronunciation: 'fog, fäg
Function: noun
Etymology: probably back-formation from foggy
1 a : vapor condensed to fine particles of water suspended in the lower atmosphere that differs from cloud only in being near the ground b : a fine spray or a foam for firefighting
2 : a murky condition of the atmosphere or a substance causing it
3 a : a state of confusion or bewilderment <spent the morning in a fog> b : something that confuses or obscures <hid behind a fog of rhetoric>
4 : cloudiness or partial opacity in a developed photographic image caused by chemical action or stray radiation – fog·less /-l&s/ adjective

Do you ever feel your life is foggy?  I do.  But I learned a few things to help with that last night…I drove in fog at 11 p.m. last night from Ft. Collins to Denver.  Thick, crazy “can’t-see-two-feet-in-front-of-you” kind of fog.   I tried to remember everything I’d ever learned about driving in fog.  Was it better to be out front of the other cars?  Lights on vs. lights off? Stick behind tail lights that you can see and just ride there?  What were all those little snippets of advice my dad had given me when teaching me to drive a hundred years ago now?  I couldn’t really remember what to do….so from just the experience, here’s what I learned:

When you’re in a fog:

1.  Keep your lights on.  I tried turning them off, like sometimes you can do in a snowstorm…nope.  Not a good idea.  Your lights give you just enough room to see in front of you, but at least you see!  Kind of like in life.  Keep God’s word “on” – it’s a lamp unto our feet, just enough light in front of us to keep us moving forward.

2.  Don’t drive around everyone to be out in front in the hopes it’s better out there!  I tried that too, thinking the person in front of me was going far too slow.  They must just be scared.  Nope.  Driving around them I just ended up understanding quickly why they were going so slow in the first place.  The visibility was completely gone. Again, like in life.  Sometimes I need to be more aware of those in front of me, around me and stay in step with them.  They may very well be protecting me from something I don’t even see.  Ignoring them and just plowing ahead – I may set my self up for zero visibility and frustration!

3.  When you do actually see tail lights in front of you, slide in behind them at a reasonable distance and let them guide you on.   When they exit, find new ones and keep going!  In life – yes, to me this means you find someone who’s anchored in Christ, with wisdom and you follow after them, letting them help you and guide you.  If it’s only for a season, in the next season, find someone else whose modeling Christ and follow them. 

 

There you have it – Foggy Life Lessons 101.

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

5 responses »

  1. Donna says:

    Hey, that was kinda nice. An interesting contrast to your spouse’s Cloudy Blue-Sky Thoughts!

  2. Joel says:

    Great observations and parallels!

  3. Scott says:

    With your permission I’d definately like to use this as a sermon illustration sometime.

    Very insightful!

  4. optionalg says:

    umm… did you take the picture .. while driving… in the fog… using your camera phone that you don’t know how to use? very safe 😉

  5. MARK says:

    That kind of left me in a fog. Kind of clouded up my mind. I was a little *mist*erious though.
    giddygo!

Leave a Reply

