Cinnamon Dolce Latte

For weeks now every time I order my traditional “Venti, Triple, Non-fat, Upside Down, Caramel Macchiato” I kick myself because after I’ve paid, and they’ve already started to make the wonderful substance of choice…I see their blackboard description of the Cinnamon Dolce Latte.  It’s been around a while, but I keep forgetting that I want to try it.

Then came yesterday…I was on a mission.  I remembered before walking into the store and ordered my first “Venti, non-fat, Sugar Free Syrup, Cinnamon Dolce Latte”.  I liked it very much, in fact, enough to make it my beverage of choice for a while.  This morning I tried to tell myself I didn’t need to be going to Starbucks, but my car ended up taking me there, wierd!  I ordered the newfound drink of choice, but tweaked it slightly by adding an extra shot of espresso.  Yep, now it was definitely perfect.  Yum. 

I must confess I agree it makes no sense to buy these fluff drinks.  However, I’m addicted.  I’d seriously be in need of a therapy group if I was forced to quit.  I try to go in moderation…I was even proud of myself a while ago because I went a whole week [I know you’re in shock, a whole week….wowza!] without frequenting one of the 3 Starbucks I usually go to.  Rob has been very good at not harrassing me when he sees “732” charges to Starbucks on our bank statements…but I don’t know how long that will last. 

Then today when I gave my order, Robbin (she’d also need a therapy group if she had to quit) told me I was a high-maintenance orderer.  What?  No way.  But then she reminded me it wasn’t just Starbucks…at Subway I have my order down to:  “6 inch, Turkey, wheat bread, with 1 strip (don’t overdo it) of spicy mustard, 1 piece (no more than that, please) of onion, black olives, lettuce, tomatoes, 1 spinach leaf (just a tich of spinach flavor is enough) and a bit of vinegar (no oil) and then salt and pepper the heck out of it”.    

Hey, I just am being specific – I know what I want, is that a crime?  Wait, then there’s the whole food envy thing I have going on…at restaurants I must know what everyone else is ordering first – just in case they have somehow managed to choose something better than what I’m having.  I don’t want to sit and eat with food envy the entire meal, after all.  Once it’s safe and I don’t think I need to order a “I’ll have what they’re having” type of thing, then, and only then will I place my perfect order.

I know, I’m a mess. 🙂

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. Stephanie says:

    i’m glad i’m not the only psycho who orders their subway sandwich so specifically (i’m gonna say “specific” here cuz’ it sounds nicer than “high-maintenence”).

    but, hey…isn’t subway supposed to be “my way”…or is that burger king? maybe subway is just a healthy version of burger king…without the creepy king.

  2. Tara says:

    At least you’re not High maintenence and you think you are low maintenence. You KNOW you are high maintenence;)

  3. Donna says:

    What’s High Maintenance?

    If you don’t know what high maintenance is, does that mean you can’t be high maintenance?

Leave a Reply

