A while ago Rob bought me Alan Jackson’s Precious Memories CD.   

An odd choice you might think, for those who know me, but what you might not know is that I do like country music and combining Alan Jackson’s country twang with the beautiful hymns I grew up with is a perfect combo for me.  Plus, I grew up listening to a bunch of country music singers with my Dad – so I listen to this CD often when I’m missing my Dad, who is now dancing in heaven with Jesus. 

There’s nothing like the old hymns to encourage you, sometimes…one of my personal favorites is TURN YOUR EYES UPON JESUS – may you be encouraged by these timeless words today :

O soul are you weary and troubled?
No light in the darkness you see?
There’s light for a look at the Savior,
And life more abundant and free.
 

Refrain
Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His Glory and Grace.
 

Through death into life everlasting
He passed, and we follow Him there;
Over us sin no more hath dominion –
For more than conquerors we are!
 

Refrain
Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His Glory and Grace.
 

His Word shall not fail you – He promised;
Believe Him, and all will be well;
Then go to a world that is dying,
His perfect salvation to tell.
 

Refrain
Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His Glory and Grace.

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. Jeanie says:

    I am also a huge fan of the old hymns (and country music). It has become one of the most restorative things I do – grab the tattered hymnbook and sing words rich in meaning, that have stood the test of time.

    We can’t be hip and cutting edge every second, Carol Ann! 🙂

    “I am Thine, O, Lord. I have heard Your voice as it told Your love for me…”

  2. Donna says:

    Rob, I thought you hated country music. Rock on, CAK.

Leave a Reply

