So, we watched the Top 12 on their first night on the big stage on American Idol

Tonight was Diana Ross night on American Idol. 

 

(Did I just find my new hairstyle?  She says it’s easy….just tease it, hmmmm.)

It was obvious there were a lot of nerves.  Here’s my two cents. 

  • Melinda Doolittle rocked the house.  Love that she seems very humble and in awe of the crowd’s response.
  • Chris had the most like Diana Ross hair.  His version of “Endless Love” didn’t work.
  • Laquisha (spelling) is also in the running, she did a great job.
  • Best guy, Phil Stacey, he looks like the Newsboys lead singer…
  • Blake tried to change up a Diana Ross song with beat boxing….and the dance moves, just didn’t work.
  • Gina – didn’t do a great job, but it wasn’t terrible – she’s my personal favorite, but not sure if she’ll make it to the end.  I like her “funky-ness”
  • Wierdest comment?  Simon’s “It was a little bit gooey…” What?  Or maybe “When you hear a wail in Beverly Hills that is where Diana Ross is watching this show…the only similarity is the hairstyle…” and everyone thought it he meant “whale”  [feedback to Sanjaya]
  • Sanjaya – why is he still in the running?  Probably because of his hair, but he totally wierds me out.  He also is in serious need of dance lessons, at least a couple of moves beyond swiveling the feet and twisting the hips.  His hair tonight – perm gone bad.  He’s probably a very nice kid though.
  • Bummer for the several who forgot their words.  I have sympathy for them – I have a hard time remembering the words to songs when I’m nervous, too.

Do you watch American Idol?  It’s okay, you can admit it publically 🙂

Who is your favorite contestant so far?

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

7 responses »

  1. I can’t take the beginning and by the time the finals roll around, I am not interested.

  2. maryvigil says:

    I would like to ask all of America why Sanjaya is still around. I love Laquisha and am not feeling the guys at all really –

  3. Amy Jo Baker` says:

    I so agree with all that you said. Sanjaya is horrible he reminds me of a Michael Jackson wana be with no talent. He would be a beautiful girl!

    My favorites did’nt do well at all ! So it will be interesting to see how they do next time.

  4. Jennifer says:

    The whole thing is dead to me after my friend Rudy got voted of fthe first week instead of Sanjaya! He is awful!
    Laquisha is amazing, though…

  5. Stephanie says:

    totally agreed. i love melinda and laquisha…hope it’ll be down to them. and i would make a comment on sanjaya…but we all seem to be in agreement here that we don’t know why he’s still here. what the heck?!?

  6. optionalg says:

    what was with diana ross saying.. ‘you need to PRONUNCIATE’ the words … pronunciate?

  7. Donna says:

    Oh, is that show still on?

Leave a Reply

