Why oh why must you use “chicken lips” and other “awkward chicken-ness” in your pot pies?  The crust, yum, the sauce, yum, the added veggies, most of the time, yum…but the bite into the tastebud revolting crunchness, gristly, fibery, veiny chicken piece that seems to find it’s way in there – DISGUSTING!  Makes me want to throw up…I have to lurch for a kleenex or napkin to spit out the horrible-ness!  Here’s the thing.  I haven’t met anyone yet who says, “Man, I love the awkward chicken parts!  I wish I could have them in my dinners!”  No, it’s a well-known fact that most chicken lovers love WHITE MEAT!  I carefully trim chicken meat to just the juicy white meat morsels for my family when I’m cooking, why, chicken-pot pie makers in the world, why can’t you do the same?  After all, aren’t we just one big happy family?

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

8 responses »

  1. optionalg says:

    i am waiting for spam pot pies… no crunchiness in that

  2. OK, I need to know which brand this might be. We do the Marie Callendar’s pot pies just for this reason. Tried the Banquet and almost tossed my cookies watching one of our kiddos spit out the yucky parts… eeeewwwwww! Marie Callendar’s? Not so much. 🙂

  3. Carol Ann says:

    Sadly, Stephanie, it was a Marie Callendar’s Pot Pie. I thought I’d be safe, but no, several awkward bites into it I realize even the best of the best had caved and started putting in compromised chicken pieces….what’s this world coming to!

  4. Oh… my goodness… I need to sit down. It can’t be possible! I’m truly appalled. I’ll have to send a letter to the company. Less than adequate chicken pieces simply will not do!

  5. Donna says:

    When you guys work it out, let me know, because I love chicken pot-pies, but have been depriving myself do to the awkward, compromised chicken parts. Got a good recipe? I am all for trying it out myself….parts well known coming from my fridge!

  6. Rob says:

    Back in college all I could afford was generic pot pies. Only 12 cents! Yuck! “Awkward Chicken Parts” would have been a step up. I’m pretty sure that the generic pies had in them whatever came from the squeegeed floor of the slaughter house.

  7. OK, I need therapy now because I can’t get the picture of the squeegeed floor of the slaughter house out of my head. I’m pretty sure I ate one or two of those pies in college myself. I’m scarred for life.

  8. nateroo says:

    What’s all the hubbub about? You all act like you know every single ingredient in every single meal you ever ate! If it got you through hard times, if it got you through college hard times, if you at some point enjoy the fact that you’re still around to write about it, who cares what’s in those pies? I, along with many many others LOVE chicken pot pies no matter whether they’re Banquet, a store name-brand, or Marie Calendar’s, which I see thousands being sold and eaten. And I’ve never come across some odd part because I’m enjoying every mouthful! I take them to work and have NEVER gotten back to my office to enjoy it without several people wishing I would share it with them, which I have on occasion and never had someone ask/say, “what was that awful crunchy thing I ate, hope it wasn’t a stray chicken part off the slaughter house floor!” And how many of you have tasted or licked your finger after dipping it into your own dishes while preparing a meal for guests? Would you serve your guests and tell them, “it taste really great now that I tasted it by dipping my digits into it and licking them all, adding whatever was needed to offset my saliva!” “But you know, that’s all part of the process!” Get off the pot pie makers’ case! It’s a great pot pie!!

Leave a Reply

