The Chapel and Mt. Meeker

I’m heading to the mountains this afternoon, to the St. Malo Retreat Center in the Allenspark/Estes Park area.  They’re predicting a huge snowstorm, so maybe it will look like the picture above!  🙂  I have the privilege of leading worship for the Northern Hills Christian Church ladies retreat with my friend, Toby.  On Sunday morning, we get to have a time of worship in the chapel pictured above.  There’s something really amazing about worshipping God in this setting – close to the handiwork of his creation and inside a beautiful church building that allows for a beautiful atmosphere to lift up praise to our Father.  I’m really looking forward to it.

The retreat theme is based on:  Taste and See that the Lord is GOOD…! (from Psalm 34:8) 

As I reflect on the weekend coming up and on the opportunity I have to express what this theme means to me personally, I have been reminded of so many things.  I am reminded of the fact that David says “taste” it means you have to “do” something.  When you “taste” food, it generally doesn’t just magically appear in your mouth, you picked it up (or used a fork or spoon) to put the food in your mouth…  David says “and see” – to see something you really have to look at it, and focus your eyes on it if you’re trying to really see.  Or, if you’re trying to “see” with the intention of “understanding”, like, to “see the point” of something, then you really have to be sensitive to what it is you are studying – if it’s a person, to really “see” them, you have to listen, invest, and spend time cultivating a relationship – the more involved you become the more you “see” that person.  

Challenge points  for me:  Am I “tasting” [picking up God’s word and tasting, or purposefully taking action] to “taste” who God is?  Am I really “seeing” who God is, spending time, investing, and cultivating my part of this amazing relationship with Him that He gave to me?

 Also, in researching and studying this particular phrase in this verse, I was reminded that David didn’t say “taste and see if you like God.”  He is making a bold proclamation “taste and see that the Lord IS good!”  It’s both a fact and a challenge.  If you taste, then you WILL see – test it.   

 There’s so much more…like the “so what” part of this verse…so you “tasted” and you “saw” and confirmed that, yes, the Lord IS GOOD…so what.  Well when you think of the physical tasting and seeing, tasting allows you to begin the process of adding nutrition to your body that sustains you, seeing brings you more and more knowledge, the more you see, the more you understand and know.  You look outside and “see” the snow, you then understand the need to prepare differently for the weather.  You “see” someone, really understand them, you then can know how to really reach out to them.   Tasting the Lord, then, begins to pour nutrients into your spiritual soul and seeing the Lord provides you more knowledge about who He is and how much that impacts your life!

And…there’s more…but that’s enough for today.  If you think about it, pray for me, that I can articulate these thoughts and be an encouragement to the ladies.  The beautiful thing is it’s not about sharing an “achieved skill” or a place where “I’ve arrived”- I’m right in there in the thick of it with everyone else, daily learning and believe me….I’m Enjoying the Journey!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. Hope it was an awesome weekend! Wish I could have been there.

  2. cakboliv says:

    The retreat went great! A good time was had by all. 🙂

  3. Denise says:

    The retreat was GREAT and the worship time was amazing. God was there with us and revealed himself to me (and many others I am sure)! So awesome! Thanks CarolAnn, what a blessing to spend time together.

Leave a Reply

