OR  

Several years ago I had to take my wonderful husband  shopping to do a “de-plaid-ing”  – a sort of cleansing of his closet.  You see, he was very committed to the plaid shirts.  Every time he would happily report he’d bought a new shirt, I’d say, “let me see”…and he’d show me and it would be another version of PLAID!  So, his choices for a while in his closet were red plaid, brown plaid, blue plaid, green plaid, and an odd assortment of other plaid.  Now, here’s the thing, I like plaid, but, I also think variety is a good thing!  He was a good sport and kept a few plaid shirts, but allowed me to fill up his closet with a great assortment of other shirts to choose from.

Well, I think it’s time for another intervention.  You see, it’s not plaid, now, it’s stripes!  He just came home from Old Navy with a bag full of STRIPE SHIRTS.  Again, I like stripes, but I’m almost ready for him to bust out the plaid again!  🙂  His closet now has a wonderful assortment of blue stripes, red stripes, yellow stripes, green stripes, brown stripes, etc.  I like them, but, we’re seeing an old pattern develop here.  HELP!  I think I need to go shopping with him again, a “de-stripe-ing” might be needed.

So I ask you, the general public and/or the two friends who actually read my blog, which is better?  Stripes of plaid?

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

10 responses »

  1. I think you’re onto something with the assortment of styles. Plaid isn’t bad, but ALL plaid is. Stripes aren’t bad, but ALL stripes is. Maybe a solid or two in there would be good, too. I’m personally a fan of solid polos, nice bright button-downs, a little plaid, a few stripes… mixin’ it up is a good thing!

  2. WEndyj says:

    haha…i loved this post. Its funny to see that men really need women in their lives. Not just to be there as a companion, for conversation, and motherhood, (everything that comes with) but also for dressing! (as we noticed in chapel the other day what happens when men dress themselves in light or dark:-P) Its good to see he is confidant enough that your suggestions don’t insult his manhood:) God Bless men. God bless you for helping your’s be a fashionable dresser too;)

  3. Is the shirt in the picture the one he wore today? Ha ha! I LOVED your Mom. What an awesome message she gave for Mother’s Day. Thanks for asking her to spend Mother’s Day sharing with us. What an inspiration. Now we know why her daughter’s so great!

  4. Dan says:

    Stripes fo sho!! 🙂

  5. Jennifer says:

    Stripes! I love stipes, I end up buying them all the time, too. So, I would say Rob has made progress. 🙂

  6. Jeanie says:

    Is it a man-thing? – this tendancy to buy a whole bunch of something at one time, as if that means they are set for the next several years or hopefully until Jesus returns? Dave is similiar. He sees a neon orange shirt on clearance. He thinks to himself, “It is only $3 and doesn’t look good, but I can use it around the house and at this price, maybe I should get 8 of them.” I HATE the neon orange, $3 t-shirts “for around the house.” Maybe I’ll send him to Old Navy for a selection of stripes?…

  7. Donna says:

    Um, Rob isn’t going to wear the bikini is he?

  8. Please say no to Donna’s question. I’m not sure I can hang with the bikini thing.

  9. cakboliv says:

    Ok, Donna, that was wierd! Not sure where the random picture of the bikini came from, but we’re back in business with stripes now…Rob in a bikini? I’m shuddering. 🙂

  10. Donna says:

    Okay, I feel better now.

Leave a Reply

