Are you a “no-sayer or a yes-sayer?  I was talking about this very thing with someone the other night.  We were discussing parenting and how easy it is to always say “no”.  I remember the many “no’s” I gave my girls just because it made things inconvenient. 

“No, kids, we can’t do that, I’m too busy.” 
“No, you can’t go there with so and so.”
“No, he can’t come over today.”
“No, that will never happen.”
“No, you might get hurt.”
“No, I just got everything clean!”
“No, we can’t ….

Squelcher, squelcher, squelcher!

I listened to someone during my kids’ toddler years that fortunately transformed my thinking.  The challenge was given to swing the tide…instead of the majority of the time responding with no, make the majority of the time be a “yes” response.  (Obviously there are times when you can’t do something…but, you’d be surprised how often you say “no” out of convenience.)

It’s just as easy to say:

“What a great idea!  Let’s try to do that!”
“Yes, let’s do that.”
“Yes, that sounds really fun!”

“Yes” helps you be a life-giver.  It gives hope.  It builds encouragement.  It provides great memory making moments!

Challenge yourself to switch gears and be a life-giver to your kids, say yes more often.  The dishes can wait.  The laundry can wait.  The paperwork can wait.  Kids can’t!  They grow up.

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. 3rdthursdays says:

    Thank you! I needed to hear that. Just today I was wondering if I would ever be able to stop saying, “No” to Hunter. I want to be a positive enforcement in his life. Love to you!

Leave a Reply

