Just some random thoughts that have been on my mind this morning… 

Yesterday at church the message was given from I John 2:26 – 3:10.  Hard passage of scripture to unpack, but it was a good message and one that continues to prompt a lot of thought for me.  The point was made that as God’s children, we reflect His DNA in our attitudes, actions and lifestyle, in fact, that is a mark of really being his child.  I John 2:27…”Once you’re convinced that He is right and righteous, you’ll recognize that all who practice righteousness are God’s true children.”  There’s a whole lot more I could share from yesterday’s message, but I have been focusing on the point that children reflect the DNA of their parents. 

What a great reminder to all of us as parents, to realize that for the good or bad, children reflect us as they grow up.  I realize this is nothing earth shattering, we’ve all been reminded of this a time or two, but I wonder how much time we spend intentionally modeling the “DNA” that we want our children to express?  Or do we shrug our shoulders and say, “oh well, too late for that?”   Here’s another reminder, as children of God, we are involved in one of the most beautiful things in the whole world.  We have a Father who is THE CREATOR and never stops creating!  That means we have the privilege of brand new opportunities, because of God’s grace in our lives, to begin intentionally modeling good things for our children to reflect.  It’s never too late.  And another thing, because of the power of God in our lives, He makes it possible for our children to see the new in us and to be impacted in brand new ways!

I am not sure why this keeps mulling in my mind.  I have examined my own life as a mom often over the years and I’ve uncovered disappointment at the way I’ve handled things, but I also keep looking forward because I have been extremely blessed by knowing my God, my Father, makes it possible for me to have new opportunites to invest  in the lives of my daughters. 

So, tired and weary mother, or father, who might be reading this post.  Here’s the thing:

  1. First, make sure you’re in God’s family, that you are his child!  (If you’re not sure, you can be!  Just let me know and I’ll share that awesome news with you!)
  2. Second, remember that as God’s child, YOU are a reflector of His DNA to the world. 
  3. Third just as you reflect God’s DNA, your children reflect yours – but because of God’s grace and power in you, it’s never too late to have a brand new opportunity to recreate the DNA your children are reflecting from you!  Take heart, and make a difference in their lives today!
About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

One response »

  1. J says:

    The sermon was awesome! I loved the part about being adopted (because Dave was so I could really relate). Scott said that for the child who was about to be adopted, it could feel really frightening and hard and a fearful place, but there are these parents on the other side full of anticipation and excited for the baby’s arrival.

    So – here we are – adopted into God’s family. We may have come kicking and screaming or full of doubt, but He was just there planning a big celebration. Nice!

Leave a Reply

