Proverbs 4: 18 -27 

18-19 The ways of right-living people glow with light;
   the longer they live, the brighter they shine.
But the road of wrongdoing gets darker and darker—
   travelers can’t see a thing; they fall flat on their faces.

Learn It by Heart

 20-22 Dear friend, listen well to my words;
   tune your ears to my voice.
Keep my message in plain view at all times.
   Concentrate! Learn it by heart!
Those who discover these words live, really live;
   body and soul, they’re bursting with health.
 23-27

Keep vigilant watch over your heart;
   that’s where life starts.
Don’t talk out of both sides of your mouth;
   avoid careless banter, white lies, and gossip.
Keep your eyes straight ahead;
   ignore all sideshow distractions.
Watch your step,
   and the road will stretch out smooth before you.
Look neither right nor left;
   leave evil in the dust.

There are people who I respect so much becuase they definitely live out the principles above.  The thing that impacts me most is it’s not a “show”.  No matter where you find them – in public settings, or private, they live out truth.  And, these people have CEMENTED God’s word  in their hearts – they’ve understood the value of :

Keep my message in plain view at all times.
   Concentrate! Learn it by heart!

They are an inspiration to me.  I love talking to them and having them  recall scriptures that fit in every conversation we have.  I love seeing the “glow” that this passage talks about.  Don’t get me wrong, they all go through trials, and are “real” in the midst of them, but they never lose sight  of their hope in Christ.  They keep vigilant watch over their hearts…  

So thanks, Mom, Rob, Greg, Debb, Jeanie, Mark, Judy, Dave, Tara, Randy, Dan, Mariana, John, Ta, Donna, Lane, Jason, Neva, Lyn, Kim, Marie, Karen, Scott, Molly, Mandy, Robbin, Rushelle….just to name a few of them – oh, yes, there’s more, but there’s not enough room in this post for all the names.  But those named, and the ones still on my list – you are all life-givers to me!

P.S.  I want to be like them when I grow up! 

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. Dan says:

    Thank you, dear friend. Your name is holds a prominent spot on my list, as well…..

  2. J.R. says:

    Just as I opened your blog I was singing, “Word of God speak…” as I have spent the morning reading, from 3 different translations of the Bible: Psalm 119. And I was like, “Lord, how can I get all of it, every bit of Your Word IN to me – totally IN??!”

    I even listened to it again at http://www.biblegateway.com – Max somebodyorother reading Ps. 119 and you hear David’s words and his love of the law of the Lord.

    And I know “His promise preserves my life,” it has actually saved my life, and I know He has “delivered me from the oppression of men” SO THAT I could KEEP His precepts (hear them, receive them, love and obey them).

    But how, Lord – how can I get the ocean in a teacup?

    I sing, “Word of God speak” as a prayer. I read Carol Ann’s blog and the Holy Spirit speaks to me: Learn it by heart! Stay focused, make it the main thing, plant it deep into the center of my very being – learn it by heart.

    I cannot even tell you how poignant verses 20-22 are to me today, my sweet friend, but thank-you, thank-you!

  3. Debb says:

    What a lovely reminder after a long day! My prayer is that HIS light shines through even when it seems like I’m running out of juice! Love you!

Leave a Reply

