My mom and my six year old nephew, Levi,  had a very interesting conversation the other day.  Levi was ready to eat his waffles for breakfast, but sadly discovered the syrup his dad usually had for him (the fancy, thick, tastes buttery kind of syrup) was all gone.  My mom quickly told him that he could certainly use some of Grandma’s syrup (the thin, watery, fake maple, dollar store kind of syrup).  In his sweetest most respectful voice, Levi responded to my mom:  “No thank you, grandma, your syrup tastes like crap!”   

Of course my mom suggested that he choose other words in the future – but we all got a good laugh out of that one.  🙂 

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. Kids are so honest, aren’t they? What a funny story. The youngest stepdaughter recently said on a day trip to appreciate nature’s beauty, “This sucks.” She was told, “This is nature, appreciate it, drink it in.” She replied, “OK, this naturally sucks.” We also discussed different words for next time… 🙂

  2. makeovermom says:

    You gotta love kids! Everytime we are at a relatives or friends house I hold my breath until after one of my 2 boys has spoken cause they just spurt out whatever comes to mind half the time…being as honest as they can. Thanks for the reminder that ALL kids do it!

  3. Scott says:

    Knowing the two individuals gave me a visual that left me in stitches!!

Leave a Reply

