Thoughts from a mother’s heart: 

Today’s the big move in day at DU (Denver University).  Bethany Dianne Kelly is moving in to the dorms there and the campus will never be the same.  🙂  I had a restless night last night – my mind flooded with memories and fighting butterflies in my stomach – the “mom nerves” that come anytime your kids have something big to face. 

Rewind 14 years ago – pre-kindergarten at Gesthemane Lutheran School – my tearful little girl had to be dropped off and left with tears streaming down her face and mine.  I’d call the school when I got home:

“Yes, Mrs. Kelly, she is still crying, but really, she’ll be okay!”

I had to fight the urge to run and rescue my little girl.  It was hard on both of us, but she did adjust, and we did survive. 🙂

Today things are different.  My timid, shy, little girl has grown into a beautiful confidant young woman.  Her adult life is just beginning and I know that whatever she puts her mind to she will succeed.  I am really looking forward to hearing watching this next chapter for her unfold. 

This is the second time we’ve gone through this process – with Robbin, the oldest Kelly daughter, it was a bit different, we drove across the country (to New York State) and left her there.  With Bethany it’s just about 30 minutes south down I-25, however, it still feels a bit like driving across country because I know this is the end of one chapter in my life and the beginning of a new one.  The excitement comes with a bit of meloncholy thoughts as I reflect on that, but overall, I think we’re ready.

Let the new adventures begin!  In the spirit of your grandpa Howard who was best described by the word “go”, and who I know is looking down from heaven with pride at his  granddaughter –  “Go, Bethany, Go! ” In life when someone needs something, go!  In life when opportunties are presented for new perspectives – go!  In life when God calls you to do something for Him – go!  In life always be prepared to GO!  Go, Bethany Kelly, go – your life will be enriched by learning to stretch and learning how to GO!  

Bethany Dianne – I love you very much and I will forever be your cheerleader in life!!!!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. J says:

    Life’s passages do not always feel very wonderful right when they are happening.

    Later, sure, but a little hard in the moment.

    You’re a good cheerleader!

  2. debbiebresina says:

    I’ll be praying for Beth as she enters one of the most exciting chapters God will provide for her in life. I’ll also be praying for mom AND dad… I know you both will miss being right smack in the middle of her daily journey. Poor Lise: she now has the whole burden of entertaining both her parents! 😉

Leave a Reply

