Growing up I loved listening to Abba.  I could sing the words to all their songs. One time my friend and I were convinced we saw ABBA – now remember, I grew up in Bolivia – I’m pretty sure that they never toured there.  We were so convinced that they were there, however, that we stalked these poor people who we thought were them….following them to their house on our bikes and trying to figure out how to meet them.  Crazy times. 

A few years ago we purchased the best of Abba Video.  We also had just purchased a new DVD player.  As we watched I was cracking up how weird the videos were – but the funniest part was that the whole thing was so close up –  you’d see one of the girls wink and her eye would fill the screen, or they would focus on her lips and they would fill the screen.  The crazy costumes, the very seventies make up, it was really funny.  After a while, though, it got annoying that it was so close up.  I made fun of how they made videos back in the day….until I realized that I had pushed a zoom button on our remote that made the whole thing a “close up” shot.  🙂 

Watch the video at your own risk.  I have no idea what the tin foil is all about….

What were the bands back in the day that you were a big fan of?  It’s okay to admit it, really. 

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

10 responses »

  1. Dave says:

    The date: 1977
    The place: Denver, CO
    The car: 1967 Chevy Camaro
    On the radio: Styx told us to Come Sail Away until we hit the Commodores Brick House. David Soul entreated us Don’t Give Up On Us Baby but the Carpenters warned us that All You Get From Love is a Love Song but don’t worry because KISS was Calling Dr. Love. Q was pairing the Dancing Man with Abba’s Dancing Queen and the Climax Blues Band just Couldn’t Get It Right. Thelma Houston and Santa Esmeralda told us Not To Leave Me This Way but Don’t Let me Be Understood either and Crystal Gayle Didn’t want Her Brown Eyes Blue; while Fleetwood Mac was telling us to Don’t Stop the Dreams and just Go Your Own Way. The Marshall Tucker Band Heard It In A Love Song that the Little River Band’s Help Is On The Way! There was a New Kid in Town and he apparently resided in Margaritaville.
    Ahh the 70’s a decade like no other…
    I think I’ll put on a qiana shirt and flair legged polyester slacks pull out a few lp’s and give them and Jeanie a spin…

  2. Donna says:

    I started a list, then decided to just ditto Dave’s! Add in some Head East and Moody Blues. Did I mentioned that I spent an evening with Tommy Shaw of the Styx – he was dating a friend of a friend of a friend. He is not tall and has buck teeth….

  3. Jeanie says:

    Dave played the song for me yesterday and then we both sang it a-l-l d-a-y l–o–n–g!!!!

  4. a2jbigdaddy says:

    Too funny, I assume this is a compilation video since none of the lyrics fit the lips…lol. However I always had the hick/hippie bent to what I had to listen to. (I was only born in 1972) So I heard stuff like the Nitty Gritty, Bob Dillon (eeww) Willie, Slim, Dr Hook, Marty Robins…weird collection huh? Oh and the Brothers Four….thats weird. When I finally had a choice, it was anything off the “Footloose” or “Miami Vice” soundtracks…lol

  5. tulips4me says:

    The first album I purchased was Billy Joel Glass Houses. I used to skate to Air Supply at the roller rink. I’m all out of love, I’m so lost without you…

  6. Scott says:

    CAK you kill me girl! That’s why the remote is best left in the hands of . . .

    (wisdom just kicked in)

  7. Diane says:

    The platform shoes just crack me up in the video! The music of the 70’s brings a smile to my face. I also ditto Dave’s comment. He said it the best!

  8. My first album wasn’t an album… it was an 8-track, which I think still lives somewhere in our basement. REO Speedwagon, gotta love ’em. I followed that up with some serious “Child of the ’80s” stuff — Lionel Richie, Michael Jackson (when he still LOOKED like Michael Jackson), Chicago, Huey Lewis and the News…

    I liked 70’s music, though. Marty Robbins is still a favorite. “Out in the west Texas town of El Paso…”

  9. Just thinking about the “tin foil” cover in this video – I think Chipotle Owners must be Abba fans at heart – they’ve been known to offer free burritos to Chipotle fans dressed in tin foil on Halloween. I wonder what they’d do if someone showed up dressed in tin foil “Abba-esque”? Hmmmmmm…..yeah, don’t think about it too hard!

  10. Don says:

    I’m a “Donny come lately” to the ABBA scene but have become a FANATIC! “Dancing Queen” described my late wife as we met at a singles club and she was “LOOKING” to dance AND you would have thought she was “only” SEVENTEEN! We played the song off and on over our 14 years of dancing together. I’ve been to “Mamma Mia” in Vegas and went to the midnight premiere of the movie which features Meryl Streep and is FANTASTIC!

Leave a Reply

