Not feeling very courageous of late, I had the blessing of listening to a Willow Creek Leadership Summit CD from 2003 of Erwin McManus.  He was speaking on character, on courage.  Here are a few of the things that really made me think:

  • Humility (not prestige or power) develops integrity, which, fully formed, begins to unleash in us – courage.
  • God’s design for us – a journey of inter-connection to wisdom through perseverance that begins at faithfulness.
  • Courage is the absence of one’s self -when a cause becomes so important we think more about that and not how it would affect us.  We forget about safety (in terms of living a life that is status quo) and are willing to launch out for this cause.

It’s a very powerful message.  I am still absorbing it all.  Possibly more to come.

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. Donna says:

    I think you are a very courageous woman.

  2. Jeanie says:

    Look in the mirror…seriously, Carol Ann – do it right now. Do you have a mirror? Say this to your reflection:

    “You are made in the image of God. You are the salt of the earth. You’re a light that shines on a hill and the darkness cannot overcome it. You ARE the light of the world.”

    You’re not making it up. God already said it.

    I stopped by to en-courage you today (pour some of my courage into you…someday, I will need it back).

  3. debbiebresina says:

    My friend, I understand what it’s like to not “feel” courageous. Side-by-side in ministry, you and I have had our share of “fearful moments.” Remember, this too shall pass. And until then, I will be right beside you, just as you have been there for me, ready to face anything the battle may bring.

Leave a Reply

