Only a few more days until the family gathers for the annual Turkey and Tacos feast!  I’m really looking forward to it.  My wonderful sister Julia is hosting the gang.  Here’s the dishes I’m looking forward to:

  • My mom’s mashed potatoes – hands down the best ever!
  • My mom’s cranberry salad – layers of saltine crackers, cranberry slices, real whipped cream (no cool whip allowed) with a sprig of green stuff on top.
  • Randy Carter’s corn casserole and green bean casserole
  • Kathy Fodness’ Minnesota Fruit Salad
  • Julia’s fabulous turkey and stuffing and the other dishes she makes from Mexico – yum
  • My apple pies – is that prideful to say I’m looking forward to my own pies?  I make everything from scratch – and, well, they’re good!
  • My sister Judy’s corn stuffing – I’ve heard great things about this stuffing and I think this year I get to taste it! 

Traditionally we have a bunch of the traditional dishes, but we add chicken tacos in the mix.  Some of the family prefer them over the traditional turkey-ness.  We started doing this many years ago and it just became a tradition.  This year my job is to provide all the chicken taco-ness as well as pies.  I’ll also make the seven layer jello salad that is so fun to look at – people say it tastes good, too….it’s seven layers of clear, creamy, clear, creamy…etc., jello – topped with cool whip.

I love Thanksgiving.  I love gathering with family and friends.  I love cooking up a storm.  I love sitting around talking and laughing.  I love when my brothers and I break out the guitars and turn into the Von Trapp Family singers, or the Osmonds – take your pick.  I love watching the cousins enjoy each other and over the years watch them move from playing with toys, to playing outside, to now planning which movie they’ll all take off to when the eating is done.  I love always having new guests – friends who are not near their families that get to be a part of ours for the day.  I love the reminiscing that always takes place – from the growing up years in Bolivia, to our lives in the US and all the new stories happening with the new generations of family members. 

 

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! 

Note:  What are some of your favorite Thanksgiving foods, traditions, etc.?

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. Jeanie says:

    It is so weird that I want to change everything up in Thanksgiving menu now, but my kids are sooooooooo stuck on the traditions! Funny how that works out, isn’t it (I created a monster)? Thanks to Jovan, who does not like anything-Thanksgivingish, we have added grilled cheese sandwiches.

  2. stephanie says:

    i love that you guys do tacos!

    we had a tradition of going to the country dinner playhouse. they always had a special show on thanksgiving and they would have the traditional thanksgiving dinner. But my mom, being the goof that she is, still would make the entire thanksgiving dinner…but only because she wanted leftovers. (c:

Leave a Reply

