I have worked at Dare 2 Share for 5 years now.  Almost as long as I’ve been there, my friend, Ken Allen, has been there.  Every year this time of year I am reminded how horrified he is that some people (ahem, I might be one of them) consider busting out the Christmas music before Thanksgiving even hits.  I LOVE Christmas music and look forward to playing it as much as possible throughout this season.  Last week just to be difficult, I text messaged Ken to let him know that at that very moment I was listening to Christmas music and was enjoying every note!

Ken has a policy – NO CHRISTMAS MUSIC ALLOWED BEFORE THANKSGIVING.  In his department, if you MUST listen to Christmas music before Thanksgiving, then it must be done through headphones. 🙂  Again, just to be difficult, I have been known to stroll through Ken’s department happily humming or singing a Christmas tune.

Well, Ken Allen, according to you – 2 more days until the official “NOW YOU CAN LISTEN TO CHRISTMAS MUSIC TO YOUR HEART’S CONTENT” day.

P.S.  Oh the weather outside is frightful, but the fire is so delightful, and since there’s no place to go, let it snow, let it snow, let it snow…

P.P.S.  Anyone notice the “Christmas Blog Theme” change a week or so ago…I just can’t help myself.  🙂

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

10 responses »

  1. Ken Allen says:

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING Carol Ann! I am looking forward to my favorite holdiay tomorrow. What a great day to give thanks to God, eat wonderful food, watch/play football and spend time with family and friends!

    Then we will have 5 weeks to listen to Christmas music to our hearts content or as one of the local radio stations has been playing 24 hour Christmas music since November 12th! Something is wrong with us skipping the best holiday:)

    Ken

  2. Barry says:

    I’ll have to agree with Ken on this one. I actually am pretty “ba hum bug” when it comes to a lot of the Christmas stuff. You know its comercialized when Mr. Jazz Singer Neil Diamond (a jewish man) has a Christmas album.

    The fact that Ken is family to me has nothing to do with the fact that I agree with him.

  3. cakboliv says:

    Well, Barry, I’m sure Ken appreciates the support… 🙂

    Not a big fan of the Jazz Singer either?

    Happy Thanksgiving to you both…Friday morning, bright and early, I expect you guys to kick it in to gear with the Christmas tunes.

  4. Scott says:

    Amen Ken.

    Each holiday should have its time in the spotlight. A local hobby store started putting out Christmas decorations at the same time they put out the Halloween stuff. That’s two holidays that Christmas is encroaching on. Christmas has become the big bully on the block and we need to defend the little guys.

    The official Christmas season should start no earlier than Black Friday. That way we can give it the appropriate focus.

  5. Jeanie says:

    Ahem, fine sirs – it is Christmas everyday.

    I am FOR it – all the Christmas music!!! Because somewhere between The Boss singing about Santa getting run over by a reindeer and the poor tormented man-child Michael Jackson being upset about mama kissing Santa Claus, you get to hear, right on KOSI 101, Mariah Carey belt out, “And in His Name – all oppression shall cease!” That is true no matter who says it. That is powerful.

    I LOVE the Truth being boldly proclaimed. I love that we get to do it freely this time of year. I’ll take as many weeks as I can get!

  6. cakboliv says:

    Amen, sista! Preach it. 🙂
    And…not a moment too soon, all my Christmas decorations are now up and have transitioned our house to one of anticipation….hooray for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

