Some time ago, my good friends Randy Carter and Kim Macht, and my dear husband Rob made fun of me because I mentioned that I was a country music fan. Rob wasn’t sure about that – he didn’t seem to think he ever remembered hearing me listen to country music. Well, just because he didn’t observe me listening to country music doesn’t mean that I didn’t listen to it.

Here is a sampling of a few of my favorite country artists/bands and songs I like.

  • Alison Kraus & Union Station – When You Say Nothing At All
  • Blackhawk – Always Have, Always Will
  • Brad Paisley – She’s Everything
  • Carrie Underwood – Whenever You Remember
  • Dixie Chicks (I know, I know, people are frustrated with them, but I still like them!) – Wide Open Spaces
  • John Michael Montgomery – The Way You Love Me
  • Keith Urban – Days Go By
  • Lyle Lovett (kind of folk + country) – Teach Me About Love
  • Rascal Flatts – Bless the Broken Road
  • Sarah Evans – Need to Be Next to You
  • Shania Twain – You’re Still the One
  • SHeDAISY – Without Your Love
  • Sugarland – Everyday America
  • Tanya Tucker – (Without You) What Do I Do With Me?
  • The Wreckers – Leave the Pieces

So, for all you country music haters, so there. For my friends who like country music – what artists/bands/songs do you like?

Note: Although I do like country music, I also like a plethora of other genres…country just happens to be one of them.

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

9 responses »

  1. jkhughey says:

    From a huge country fan, you have a great list, anything we Allison Krauss is amazing…. and Dixie Chicks have a great sound… Let me add a couple of my all time favorites artists not on your list.

    #1 all time = Garth Brooks – Any song will do!

    – Little Big Town, simply amazing sound
    – Trisha Yearwood – Georga Rain – great song
    – Dwight Yoakim – Awesome!
    – Martina McBride – Stongest voice in country music
    – anything Blue grass – (the sister to country music)
    – any 4 part harmonies

    That is just a small taste of the great genre called country music!

    Jeremy

  2. Can’t forget Johnny Cash-There are so many great ones!
    Merle Haggard
    Willie Nelson
    Waylon Jennings
    Conway Twitty

    And so many, many more! (I’m a Texas girl! 🙂

  3. cakboliv says:

    Great additions to the list! I can’t believe I didn’t list the Man in Black for sure! I was teething to his music – even in the jungles of Bolivia – my dad was a huge Johnny Cash fan. 🙂

  4. Donna says:

    I knew there was goodness in you when you included Lyle Lovett.

  5. bethanydianne says:

    Ahahaha, I remember this claim made long ago… it may have since been made true but when it first was stated I hadn’t witnessed you listen to a single country song in my life. Perhaps, though, you were listening to it in all your free, isolated time between working, taking care of us kids, being around dad, driving in the car with all of us and taking care of the family… yes of course, it was in that extensive alone time you had throughout my childhood that your love for country music developed and grew without any of our knowledge, right under our noses.

    Love you motter 3000, I just enjoy haggling you 🙂

  6. Jeanie says:

    Wow-yours and commenter’s lists are great! I am a secret country-lover myself and can admit to loving almost all of the above…it is when I have to confess liking Trace Adkins that I hang my head…yet…

  7. Country is awesome. From a girl that spent a few years too many in Texas… here’s my list:

    Trisha Yearwood – The Song Remembers When
    Restless Heart – Fast Movin’ Train
    Garth Brooks – The Dance
    Martina McBride – Independence Day
    Alison Krause – Anything she sings is amazing
    Johnny Cash – Walk the Line
    Johnny Cash – (grew up with this one) A Boy Named Sue
    The Sons of the Pioneers – (grew up with this one, too) Cool, Clear Water
    Shania Twain – You’re Still the One
    Dixie Chicks – Wide Open Spaces (and I know it’s un-PC, but Goodbye Earl is a riot)
    Tanya Tucker – Delta Dawn

    And the list goes on…

    I can do a mean two-step, too!

  8. P.S. And that one by Kellie Pickler? I think it’s called “I Wonder.” I bawled the first time I heard her sing it.

  9. Free Music Site…

    I found a really cool free media site that has tons of vidoes, mp3s and images from some of the hottest acts in the world….

Leave a Reply

