My oldest daughter, Robbin (21 years old), is on a road trip. Her friend Virginia is moving back to Colorado (yeah!) from Connecticut and Robbin flew out to help her drive back.  I kept asking if they had their route planned.  Robbin’s answer was, “Well, Virginia has driven the route before.”  Not a good enough answer to me.  Then the weather reports talking about the slamming storms to hit the mid-west and northeast made me feel really comforted that the girls would be driving across the country!

So, I bought a road atlas, map-quested the route (with stops in Indianapolis to see some friends – ahem, free hotel, and Kansas City to see some friends – ahem, free hotel….thanks Amy Jo and Jamie!) for them, highlighted the route on the atlas and sent Robbin off equipped at least with a way to navigate through the snowy highways.  I also mentioned that she could call me as many times as she felt like it to just say hello (ok, I wanted to hear that she was still alive). 

They took off this morning at 5 a.m. from Connecticut and called me from somewhere in Pennsylvania.  Robbin was describing the Apalachian Mountains…”I bet they’re beautiful!”  I said.  “They’re no Rocky Mountains!” she replied.  I’ve raised a Rocky Mountains snob!

She called again around noon.  I was thinking she’d give me another update…happy she was thinking she should check in.  Nope, they were having a conversation about the “Princes of Wales” and wondered what Prince Harry and Prince William’s last name really was.  🙂

I LOVE road trips!  I am happy she has the opportunity.  I’m praying for good weather, good conversation, good (safe) adventures, good junk food, and all the silliness that comes from being cooped up in a moving metal object for ours at a time. 

Be safe, daughter of mine, but enjoy – some of my favorite memories are from road trips with my family growing up and with Rob after we got married!

NOTE TO BLOG READERS  – all 2 of you! 🙂

  • Do you like roadtrips? 
  • If no, why? 
  • If yes, what are some of your favorites?
  • By the way, what is the last name of Harry and William, the Princes of Wales?

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

4 responses »

  1. To the last question first…. Prince Charles, William and Harry’s father was christened “Charles Philip Arthur George”. I don’t know if George is his last name but it sounds as good as any.

    Do I like your road trips? Sure. Why? I don’t know… I guess I get to live vicariously.

  2. 1. love em!

    2. When i was in college, I drove back and forth to Seattle to Detroit Lakes, MN a lot! the ones that stand out are the ones i did with my friend Dave, the time I drove out with my grandma. I did the driving, she did the pop refilling. and the time i did it all by myself, because it was kind of cool to be in the car all on my own, feeling very grown up. We also did a lot of them as a kid, and the one my parents took us on to the canadian rockies was great.

    3. I think it is Windsor.

  3. Jeanie says:

    I would like road trips if I weren’t always in such an all-fired rush toget where I was heading and back in too short a time. I’d rather fly, but would someday love to meander around the USA with no agenda, no deadlines…in a convertible, of course.

  4. Donna says:

    Windsor, you know, like Windsor Castle. However, I looked it up for you 🙂 so you could fill Robbin in….

    By virtue of Queen Victoria’s marriage to Prince Albert, son of Duke Ernst I of the small German duchy of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, her descendants were members of the ducal family of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha with the house name of Wettin. Victoria’s son Edward VII and his son George V reigned as members of this house. However, high anti-German feeling among the people during World War I prompted the Royal Family to abandon all titles held under the German crown and to change German-sounding titles and house names for English-sounding versions. On 17 July, 1917, a royal proclamation by George V provided that all agnatic descendants of Queen Victoria would be members of the House of Windsor with the personal surname of Windsor. The name Windsor has a long association with English royalty through the town of Windsor and Windsor Castle.

    Road Trips…I think I blogged on that once 🙂 And for the record, I appear to be the fourth commenter which blows your theory about 2 readers 🙂

Leave a Reply

