Hooray, only 3 more days.  I love Christmas.  I’m excited to gather together with my family. I’m excited for our Candlelight Christmas Eve services. By the way, if you live in the North Denver area and haven’t decided where you will go – not if, by the way 🙂 , I am personally inviting you to come to Northern Hills.  Rob and I would love to see you there (details in link above)!

I am reflecting a lot about the birth of Christ.  The messages I’ve heard at church, in our staff chapel services at Dare 2 Share and knowing several friends who are due to deliver any day now has prompted a lot of thought about Christ’s birth.  Here’s a peek into my thoughts.

  • When Jesus was born, there were many, many who didn’t have a clue who he was.  Today, there are many, many who don’t have a clue who he is. 
  • Joseph heard from an angel and made a decision to take Mary as his wife, rather than divorce her (divorce could occur during a betrothal /engagement time in those days) from the humiliation.  He was able to step out in faith and believe what the angel told him.  I wonder if I could do the same thing?
  • I marvel at Mary’s strength!  Watching my friends who are really ready to give birth any day now, I can’t imagine them riding on a donkey for any length of time!
  • I have watched my friends reflect the anticipation of the birth of their babies.  It’s a beautiful thing, anticipation.  It builds, it provides great conversations.  It brings laughter and joy.  It brings anxiety sometimes.  I’m sure that by the time Mary and Joseph were ready for Mary to deliver, they were experiencing unbelievable anticipation!  Thoughts would be running rampid – okay, we know this is true – but seriously, can it really be true?….Yes, it is, we have to keep trusting and believing.  Can you imagine the conversations they had as they journeyed?  For those of you who have given birth – remember the conversations you had the week before, with the father of your child, with your family and friends?  Stop and imagine what Mary and Joseph would have been sharing with each other.
  • It completely boggles my mind that God would send his son to become a man – through being born just like all of us.  That Jesus would begin his life as a baby, depending on Mary and Joseph to care for him.
  • My friend, Mandy, happens to work with me at Dare 2 Share.  Friday was her last day until after her maternity leave.  Next Wed. is the big day for her beautiful little girl to be born.  So, as a team, we spent some time praying for her.  In his prayer, Tristan, prayed that Mandy and her husband, Cody, would enjoy the experience of really understanding God’s love for us through becoming parents.  I thought a lot about that.  It’s so true.  I have really understood more about how God loves me because I have children and love them more than life.  Parenting is an incredible chapter in life – whether through giving birth, or through adoption.  Rob is adopted so I have experienced through his reflections how incredible that can be as well.
  • A newfound favorite song for Christmas – Labor of Love (Click on the link, go to Behold the Lamb of God album and open the player to enjoy the song.  You can also click on the lyrics to read through the words – a powerful song!) Here’s an excerpt from the song:
    • It was a labor of pain
      It was a cold sky above
      But for the girl on the ground in the dark
      With every beat of her beautiful heart
      It was a labor of love
      For little Mary full of grace
      With the tears upon her face
      It was a labor of love

So, one challenge to you (and for me personally) is not to miss the miracle and wonder of the REAL Christmas Story, Christ’s birth.  Enjoy family gatherings, enjoy the blessing of giving and receiving, but don’t forget to reflect on the gift given to you:

Luke 2:11 For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. Jeanie says:

    For unto me was born – a Saviour! No one ever needed one more…

  2. Jason says:

    I love Christmas…and blogging…I’m back! (Nothing earthshattering, but I’m posting again.)

  3. tulips4me says:

    The service yesterday afternoon was wonderful!

Leave a Reply

