Growing up, anytime I had an upset stomach or was recovering from being sick, my mom would make me “rice soup”.  Very simple soup.  It consists of:

  • Chicken Broth
  • Chicken Pieces
  • Bits of Carrot
  • Rice
  • Cilantro leaves to sprinkle on the soup just before eating
  • Salt to season

I have been known to call my mom, still, requesting the “sick soup” when I don’t feel very well.  Last week I didn’t feel well, but decided I could make my own “sick soup.”  I started to make it when Rob and Elise informed me that they wanted some. Wait – they weren’t sick, this is “sick soup” you have to not feel well to eat this soup!  But no, that didn’t deter them and so I had to make extra portions of the “sick soup” so they could eat some too.  Since then Rob has mentioned several times that he’d like some more “rice soup”.  Today, with the freezing weather and snow falling, it seemed like a good day for “rice soup”. 

Congrats, rice soup, you have now graduated into more than just “sick soup”.  I am making the soup, adding a few ingredients – potatoes and green onions.

What did your mom always make for you to feel better when you were a kid and were sick?

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. Jeanie says:

    I am a major soup lover! But Dave won’t eat it unless he can use a fork. Many a wondrous pot of my soups he has ruined with lots and lots of crackers. I mean – LOTS!

    I am impressed with your mom’s cilantro use. I only just discovered cilantro about 10 years ago (coming to Colorado). My mom only used parsley, which, let’s face it, adds only color and not much flavor. BIG fan of cilantro!

  2. Mom says:

    Graveyard Stew – was what my mom gave us when we were sick. Two egges poached in milk. Two pieces of white, butter toast on plate. Eggs placed on top of toast, hot milk poured over the top. Salt and pepper to taste.

    I hear all the yuks – but I still do it for myself when I’m feeling nostalgic.

Leave a Reply

