So, our wonderful vacation is over and I’m in to Day 2 of the “work week” in Maui.  I am here still, with Rob, and we are both helping with a filming project Dare 2 Share is doing here.  Rob has many odds and ends roles – he’s a driver, researcher, and anything else that comes along that needs his assistance. I am cooking with my good friend, Jeanie Rhoades, for approximately 25 people.  Think 25 people x 3 meals a day x 8 days = a grand total of 600 meals served!  The schedule has been tricky.  For example, last night we were up until about midnight packing lunches and then up at 3 am this morning getting breakfast served and lunches in the cooler as the departure time of the filming cast and crew was 4 a.m.  Whew!    I tried to go back to sleep – not so much, so now I feel a bit discombobulated on what day and time it is and who I am!  :o)

Trips to Costco have been many – Costco in Maui is like Costco right before Thanksgiving at home – very crowded!  Pretty much add 2 hours to any length of time you intend to be there – travel time and time in the store.  Yeah, that’s fun!  Each trip has been an adventure – Jeanie and generally gather a ton of onlookers as we navigate heaping carts and flats around the store piling on the needed items to serve this week. 

Today’s Menu: 

  • Breakfast:  Breakfast bars, Go-Gurt, Coffee to Go, Fresh Pineapple and other fruit, Variety of juices
  • Lunch:  Sesame Chicken Wraps, Turkey Spinach Wraps, Ham and Maui Onion Wraps with assorted chips and such
  • Dinner:  Lasagna, Spaghetti, Artichoke/Spinach Dip with killer bread, salad – pie and ice-cream

Everyone seemed well fed and happy – hooray!  Thanks, Jeanie, for being willing to be on this adventure with me!  You may never speak to me again when we return since it’s been a pretty crazy schedule – just remember the sunset view from the kitchen!  🙂

Rob and I are still thankful to be here.  The view from the kitchen where all the cooking-ness takes place overlooks the ocean.  How cool is that?  And, Rob is getting to do a ton of crazy stuff.  Keep praying for our energy levels and for us to be a blessing while we are here.  I’ll try to keep posting, but it may be less frequent depending on how time allows.

Aloha!

P.S.  Any menu/cooking tips for cooking for a crowd? 

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. Yes! Make My Hubby’s Tomatillo Pork Fajitas! And plan well… far in advance (sounds like you have that one down pat). And cook with someone you like (which you absolutely have nailed!). Glad you get to spend the time somewhere so beautiful. God is Great, isn’t He?

  2. Deb Stier says:

    Aloha, my wave jumping buddy! Hope you are doing well! I, along with the kids, have been praying for you and the team out there everyday! I wish I was still there! I still have wave withdrawals! Ha! I miss you and can hardly wait to hear about everything! Take care of my hubby!! Love ya

  3. Neva says:

    Yeh, order pizza. 🙂 Praying for you guys. I’m sure this will be a special trip with tons of memories!

Leave a Reply

