Yes, it’s that time. Sigh.  Time to go back to the freezing cold of Colorado weather.  It’s been an amazing adventure being here in Maui.  The filming project Gospel Journey Maui  is over – it was a definitely hard work, but very rewarding.  Coming up with food to feed about 28 people for 8 days without too much repeats was challenging, but we did it!  One thing I knew I didn’t want to do was create the camp food  thing where they serve a couple of meals that keep recreating themselves throughout the week and end up being billed as a fabulousSunday brunch at the end….chicken fajitas for dinner, chicken salad the next day, chicken egg surprise the next, and finally chicken goulashy mushy wierd looking egg dish at the brunch – if you’ve been to a summer camp, you know that’s how it works!  So, definitely we did not want that to happen while cooking here in Maui and I think we pulled it off.  There was one breakfast that had a few leftovers…but what can you do.

I have decided I love Maui!  I definitely want to come back with my girls (really, girls, we have to make it happen!).  I’ve really missed them on this trip.  I look forward to seeing them and the mystery that awaits me is whether or not they picked up all our Christmas decorations and packed them away, or if we’ve become one of those kind of people who leave their Christmas stuff up all year long.  Yikes!  I guess we could have a Christmas in July garage sale and be all set.

We fly out tonight – leaving Maui at 11:44 p.m.  Yep, that’s fun.  Sleeping in an upright position crammed into an airplane with around 300 roomates for the night.  It is entertaining if you stay awake though, watching people try to keep their head from slumping backwards and their jaw drop forward as they begin to snore.  Thank goodness for my iPod!  I do have a good book to read….and I’m planning on taking some Nyquil to self medicate in the hopes I can entertain some other sleepless passenger looking around for an entertaining head slump and snoring person.  And, don’t you just hate the way your body feels – your legs knowing they want to stretch but only those who are daily practicing yoga are able to do so as they stretch their feet up over their heads without causing any ruckus at all.  If I tried I’d promptly kick the unsuspecting passenger in front of me and be totally embarressed when my foot became stuck behind my head and the flight attendants came racing down the aisle to rescue me.  Yeah, I’ll just imagine what stretching would feel like and know that in the morning after sleeping upright all night I’ll get to walk around in Phoenix on our layover before climbing aboard another plane bound for Denver.  Maybe I’ll have sweet dreams of being totally creamed by the ocean waves last week with Deb Stier – that should provide some well needed amusement!  🙂

Well – here’s to a great 2  1/2 weeks in Maui, back to life, back to reality….

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. Denise says:

    Safe travels to you all! I have been reading about your travels in Maui. It is really one of my very favorite places in the whole world. Talk about being surrounded by God….wow!
    We’ve all missed you and Rob and look forward to hearing about your adventures.

  2. Jeanie says:

    I arrived at home and was confused by how dead the grass and trees and bushes looked. Inside the house, where the heat was actually running, I could still smell the remnants of the fruit and spices I had simmered throughout December in the air. The light is different. The air is dry. My body is tired and wow-do I miss Maui!! Good times!

  3. Jeanie says:

    Oh – and this morning- I REALLY missed the good coffee I was used to in Maui – thanks to you, Carol Ann!!

Leave a Reply

