In the continued theme of Valentines, I must follow my last post with this update. 

(Warning to all husbands everywhere – my husband has set the bar high for you!)

Rob is always very thoughtful/clever on Valentines Day.  Here’s a list of a few things he’s done in the past for me:

  • Top Ten list of what he loves about me
  • A – Z list of why he loves me
  • A round of memories – driving me to places in the city where the memories occurred with an accompanying scroll that would describe the memory and a gift that would help me remember the memory all with a Tigger Theme.
  • 17 pairs of socks on our “17th anniversary of our first date Valentine’s Day
  • A bowling ball, bag, shoes and such in honor of our first date
  • And a whole bunch more.

Every year I get excited to see what’s in store this year.  Well, this year was really fun.  He decided to reinforce his love for me by giving me things that I love and/or that he considers frivilous.  So here’s what I received in a big red bag:

  1. Cucumbers and Rock Salt (it’s a long story)
  2. 7 packs (the kind with 3 packs inside) of various kinds of gum – I love gum, Rob is phobic about hating gum
  3. A book he described as some “horse riding, Scottish, religion” story.   I love fiction, Rob reads fiction once every 20 years
  4. Michael Buble’s latest CD
  5. Another CD he thought I loved – I’ve never heard of the artist – Jose Feliciano – Tresoros de Coleciones.  He thought I always talk about him….hmmm.  But either way, it’s a Spanish artist.  I do like that, Rob, not so much.
  6. A Starbucks gift card
  7. Downy fabric softener (another long story)
  8. My favorite kind of hairspray
  9. Milano Cookies
  10. Great bread – the kind in a real cool paper bag from Target that I like.

I laughed out loud.  He said he felt that buying the things I love that he hates or thinks frivilous can only demonstrate his TRUE LOVE for me.  I agree – it worked.  No traditional Valentines Day chocolates, flowers, or other fun-ness for this girl – he does much better!

P.S.  I think we’re going to go bowling for Valentines Day in the spirit of that first date 25 years ago.

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

5 responses »

  1. Donna says:

    Awwww. What a guy!

    We got each other a Jeep!

  2. Ta Phillips says:

    Carol Ann,

    Your husband is awesome ~ so is mine….he’s recovering from back surgery so we were home. Friends, bringing steaks to grill, cancelled due to illness ~ aaahhh true love ~ I fixed (last minute) chicken breasts, rice and salad……….We turned the lights down low and prayed together thanking God for Jesus, each other and the gift of marriage…. It was a romantic and special evening of togetherness. Isn’t God good?

  3. Jeanie says:

    I shared Dave thgis year. he gifted me and our 2 single-but-looking daughters. Soon, I’ll have him all to myself, let us pray!

  4. tulips4me says:

    Steve sent tulips to the office and made an amazing dinner. He got a new watch and a wife that was incredibly grateful that he made dinner!

  5. […] frost, package and deliver about 7200 Valentine&39s Day sugar cookies to …www.rapidcityjournal.comNever boring, always true love?? In the continued theme of Valentines, I must follow?my last post with this update.? Warning to all […]

Leave a Reply

