I’ve been wanting this gadget which I call the “iPod-listen-through-your-speakers-in-your-car-thingy” for some time now.  I’ve been watching the price drop on Overstock.com and finally it came down to what I was willing to pay for.  It came a week or so ago – hooray!  I’m loving it.  Now the 6,266 songs I have on my iPod can rotate all day long – on my drive to work, in my office, and on my way home.  I wonder how many days would go by without any repeat songs playing? Any obsessed mathematicians who could come up with that number?  I leave the house at around 7:30 every day and get back to the house around 6:00 every night on average – and usually have about an hour or so in the day offsite for lunch – so, that gives you the “story problem” figure out how many days would go by without repeat songs…oh, I guess you would figure that each song is on average 3.5 minutes. So, have fun! 

I’m really enjoying the new car toy.  Rob, however, is not because it sits right by the gear shift thingy and everytime he puts it in park he completely smashes his ring finger.  I keep telling him to remember the “iPod-listen-through-your-speakers-in-your-car-thingy” but he forgets every time and we have a repeated – shake the hand and mutter in frustration over the crushed finger.  You’d think one would learn after a while.  Bummer for him.  Me on the other hand, I’ve developed a smooth “put the car in park” move that doesn’t hit the new car toy at all. 

I love my new “iPod-listen-through-your-speakers-in-your-car-thingy”!  It’s been so much fun.

If you’re seriously considering figuring out the math problem in this post – you need a life!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

5 responses »

  1. iamjonah says:

    The answer is 39 days.

    You have 9.5 hours of “listening time” per day which equals 570 minutes per day.

    If each song runs on average of 3.5 minutes you can listen to about 163 songs each day.

    With a total of 6,266 songs to listen to, it will take you 39 days of listening before you repeat a song.

  2. Dan says:

    Well done, iamjonah! And don’t listen to CAK…you’ve already got a wonderful, mathematics-ized life! 🙂

  3. It’s useful information – knowing that I can listen for 39 days, but coming up with the information….yeah, not so much for me! Mathematics – it’s all about “who you know” and resourcing their math-mindedness!

  4. tulips4me says:

    I had that answer, really I did.

  5. Donna says:

    Yeah, I knew it too. Just keeping humble. You know, Christ-like.

Leave a Reply

