A while ago, a good friend gave me this book by Matt Redman,

a favorite worshipper of mine –

Today’s reading held the following illustration:

The year is 1744.  Hymn writer Charles Wesley is in Leeds, England, holding a prayer meeting in an upstairs room.  Suddenly there is a creak in the floorboards, followed by a massive crack, and the WHOLE FLOOR COLLAPSES.  All 100 people crash right through the ceiling into the room below.  The place is in chaos – some are screaming, some are crying, some just sit in shock.  But, as the dust settles, Wesley, wounded and lying in a heap cries out, “Fear not!  The Lords is with us; our lives are all safe.”  And then he breaks out into the Doxology:  “Praise God, from whom all blessings flow” – perhaps a bizarre choice of song, considering what has just happened! 
 
But, here’s the point:  While everyone else was still licking their wounds, the heart of this unstoppable worshipper was responding with unshakable praise.
 
Ouch.  I needed that today.  Things haven’t been easy, but I’m afraid I’ve been more prone to licking my sounds rather than allowing an outpouring of unshakable praise.  Great reminder for me, and, hopefully, for you today!
Matt goes on to remind me (us) THE WORSHIP OF GOD WINS THE DAY.  Remember David and Goliath?  This passionate lover of God [David] can’t stand to see the armies of the living God made a fool of, and he walks out onto that battlefield so “the whole world will know that there a God in Israel.” (I Samuel 17:46).  Anointed by God and driven by passion for Him, David overcomes.
Again – The Worship of God WINS the day!
About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. j says:

    One of my most cherished books. Matt Redman actually gets it and invites us in!

  2. Carmen says:

    I’ve got to get this…found you searching for an image of worship. Thanks for sharing this exerpt from Redman. I need to get that book. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Craig says:

    I recieved a copy of this book from a worship-leader friend. What incredible insight Matt has in the role of worship in a believer’s life! God used this book in my life to make me a much more effective worship leader as I work with our team and stand before our people. Thank you, Matt, for sharing!

Leave a Reply

