That was the statement made by my new little friend that I made at the Champa House

Robbin had volunteered to watch 4 toddlers there while their moms had a much needed break on the ski slopes. So, she asked if I wanted to go along and help. We arrived and found out one of the little ones had been sick so his mom wasn’t able to go and he wasn’t able to join us to play. Instead we had 3 other little girls. We had a great time.

My favorite moment was when I was asked to help 2 of the little girls settle down for a nap. One of them asked if I’d rub her back while she tried to go to sleep. So, I plopped on the floor and rubbed her little back and rested my other hand on her little friend who was laying down just across from her. We all kind of just stared at each other. Then I asked if they wanted me to sing to them. 15 minutes and dozens of songs later they finally dozed off. Before the one little girl went to sleep, however, she grabbed my arm, turned my watch toward her, got on her little elbows and said to me, “I like your clock!” How cute. She asked what time it was, so I told her, “Sleepy time!” Just before she finally gave in and went to sleep, she tried to make her eyes wide awake and looked at me and said, “Is it STILL sleepy time on your clock?” “Oh, yes.” I smiled and said.

One of the other little girls wouldn’t go to sleep, so Robbin and I played with her in another area while the other two were sleeping. We had a lot of fun getting to know her. She’s a spicy one!

I am proud of the moms I met there today. Life has thrown curve balls their way, but they are picking up the pieces and getting some traction to start over thanks to the structure and learning environment provided to them at Champa House.

I was very impressed with Champa House. I had heard a lot about this ministry to single moms, but never had the blessing of serving there. I highly recommend it. I definitely want to go back. In the meantime when I go to sleep tonight, I’ll have the picture of a sweet little girl with coal black hair, a pixie haircut and beautiful blue eyes saying, “I like your clock!”

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. Jake says:

    I have a grand daughter that only falls asleep if her back is rubbed or drawn on. You pretend to draw a picture and she guesses and then it has to be rubbed off, she is only two.

  2. Donna says:

    What a sweet, fulfilling story. You gave a grand gift.

Leave a Reply

