My good friend, Spencer, and I were talking this morning.  I owe him for a cup of Starbucks that he bought me yesterday and I was asking how much I owed him.  “$42.00” he told me.  “Good grief!” I said, “Did you buy me a cup of the cat poop coffee?”  He laughed and thought I was joking.  I told him that there really is such a thing and he didn’t believe me so he said, prove it!  Send me a link about it or blog about it.  🙂 

So, for Spencer, and all you other people interested in the weird-ness of coffee, here you go!   From Wikipedia we find the following about Civet Coffee (Cat Poop Coffee):

Kopi Luwak (pronounced [ˈkopi ˈluwak]) or Civet coffee is coffee made from coffee berries which have been eaten by and passed through the digestive tract of the Asian Palm Civet (Paradoxurus hermaphroditus). The civets eat the berries, but the beans inside pass through their system undigested. This process takes place on the islands of Sumatra, Java and Sulawesi in the Indonesian Archipelago, and in the Philippines (where the product is called Kape Alamid). Vietnam has a similar type of coffee, called weasel coffee, which are coffee berries which have been defecated by local weasels. In actuality the “weasel” is just the local version of the Asian Palm Civet.  (Full Article)

I tried to think of what image to put on this post – Widipedia has a picture of the actual “pre-picked through” cat poop but that seems too disgusting – you can see the picture if you click on the full article – so instead, I found a picture of the cat-like animal responsible for helping produce this very expensive and weird coffee:

palm_civet

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cup of java anyone?

P.S.  This is the coffee referred to in the movie “The Bucket List” also.

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

2 responses »

  1. I’ve had Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee which, at that time, was about $27/lb of beans… Still not the cost of “cat-poop” coffee. I never had the desire to try this delicacy.

  2. Jeanie says:

    omigosh, Carol Ann-you are a wonderful, tremendous coffee-maker, but don’t ever ever ever try making this for me!!!!!!!! I mean this seriously. It would do great damage to our friendship! Ha!

    Carol Ann Kelly- our very own coffee expert!

Leave a Reply

