A friend of mine sent me this cartoon.  Made me chuckle.  It’s been over a week now and I’m still hanging in there.  I’ve merged diet plans and am doing a combination of Body For Life/ South Beach/Carol Ann’s version strategy.  Seems to be working well, but I do miss:  bread, ice-cream, chips, bread, potatoes, rice, pasta, bread, chocolate bars and a bunch of other stuff – did I mention bread?  I’m still not doing great on the exercise plan – let’s just say that it hasn’t moved beyond thinking a lot about it.  One of these days I’ll implement, but still holding out! 

It’s funny how when you’ve “gone public” with your “So, I’m on a healthy eating/diet plan….” how many people begin sharing their horror stories of dieting or their sad tales of woe at the many different plans they’ve tried.  I’ve heard about Nutri-System and it’s horrible tasting food, Weight Watchers – most are positive about WW, Slim for Life, and a whole slew of other options that people have tried – juice diets, tuna fish diets, banana diets, green tea diets – it’s craziness! 

I’m not obsessed yet – I suppose becoming obsessed with healthy eating isn’t terrible – I still find myself rationalizing…like last night, I went home and saw the horribly tempting sour cream and cheese shredded potato casserole left over from Memorial Day festivities.  I kept saying, “Don’t do it, don’t do it, you can do this….” all the way until I began cramming it in my mouth after heating up a small portion to accompany my skinless boneless tiny little piece of chicken.  I decided since I’d really not gone crazy on Memorial Day that I deserved an unbelievably small portion of the wonderful sour cream, cheese and shredded potato casserole!   

The first week did yield results for me, just not willing to publicize what they are – a few close family and friends know – but it is a good feeling to begin to see progress! 

I’m off to eat a handful of nuts for my afternoon snack.  I’m absolutely giddy with joy!

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. neva says:

    Carolann,
    I’m so proud of you! You go girl! its all about what you can live with right? 🙂

  2. J says:

    omigosh…does God really mean for us to go without pasta and potatoes and hot, crusty bread dipped in olive oil? I hope not!!!

  3. Donna says:

    Oh dear, does that mean that you can’t eat any of John’s bread? I am happy to hear you are struggling….who said that whatever you have to work hard for is worth it? I don’t know, just trying to make you feel better….Guess I’ll go eat a piece of bread now.

Leave a Reply

