So, yesterday was a crazy day/night at the Kelly household!  It had already been a pretty packed weekend – many church related activities, baby showers, dinners with friends and a funeral.  Rob and I were driving to meet some friends for dinner and he proceeded to update me on how his day had started.  He’d driven early to church on Sunday morning to wrap up a few details for his message. As he went up to his office, he heard something rustle and saw something scurry across the stairs – it was a cricket.  Later in his office he heard the weird scurry noise again and looked around…didn’t see anything…then to his horror after hearing it again louder, he realized the cricket was crawling out of his ear!  Ew!  Sick it!   We think it probably hopped on his pant leg as he went up the stairs and proceeded to find it’s way to his ear.  Absolutely creepy!

After we went to bed that night, about 2:15 a.m., we were awakened suddenly by Bethany who was screaming at the foot of our bed.  I immediately felt like throwing up (it’s a weird reaction I have to being startled awake).  Rob lept out of bed and staggered over to help her.  As her screaming began to form words in my freaked out mind, I realized she was being threatened by a HUGE (I never saw it) spider AND another HUGE beetle in her room.  It freaked her out and Dad had to rescue her by bringing the spider and beetle’s lives to an abrupt end with the heel of the nearest shoe.  I of course was still trying desperately not to throw up…I finally conquered the urge. Bethany continued to be very vocal about her experience and Rob was trying to in his very fatherly way get her to calm down since he saw that it freaked me out so bad.  I kept throwing in a, “It’s okay, everyone, let’s just all calm down…” It was quite hilarious!  Finally in exasperation, Bethany opened her bathroom door and a moth flew out.  “It’s an invasion!” she declared and fled downstairs to sleep on the couch. 

Ah, to be a fly on the wall in our house – or maybe not!  It might freak us all out again!

P.S.  I’m a bit tired today! 🙂

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

4 responses »

  1. Stefane says:

    LOVE this post! I will laugh all day about, “It’s an invasion!”

    I HATE flying things…bees, moths, june bugs, butterflies…I promise you, they won’t be in Heaven…

  2. Jeanie says:

    omygoodness-hilarious to us anyway…does poor Bethany have the ongoing heebeegeebies?

  3. bethanydianne says:

    I jotted some musings about this eventful night on my blog, have a read. You know, we did find ANOTHER spider when going through my room the next day!

  4. Tara says:

    I can totally hear you Carolann…trying to calm everyone down. I love it!

Leave a Reply

