The Shack

Over the past month I keep stumbling on conversations with people who are reading, have read or want to read “The Shack”.  Those who’ve read it kind of smile a mysterious smile and say, “Oh, The Shack, yes, very interesting….” in a kind of creepy way.  A few friends are reading now and say, “yeah, I can’t put it down.”  or “…it’s totally freaking me out.” 

Okay – I’m intrigued.  Rob ordered the book for me from amazon.com and it arrived yesterday.  I tried to start it last night, but after reading the 3rd paragraph 20 times I realized I’d been falling asleep.  Now, I truly don’t think it’s because of the book’s content – I was just exhausted.  I’m looking forward to seeing what all the fuss is about.

If you’ve read it, please don’t give anything away, but let me know if you:

  1. Loved it
  2. Hated it
  3. Tolerated it
  4. Laughed at it
  5. Would recommend it
  6. Would never read it

I’ll keep you posted on my thoughts…..

 

About cakboliv

Born in Cochabamba, Bolivia to wonderful missionary parents, Howard and Maxine Morarie. Grew up in Bolivia, both in a remote jungle village

3 responses »

  1. Denise says:

    I JUST bought it to and plan to dive into it this weekend….I’m looking forward to your thoughts on it.

  2. Jeanie says:

    I am hosting a “discussion club” on it this summer…we’re gonna read it and then gather to hash it out and I’ll be posting people’s thoughts at my site. I can’t wait!

  3. Debb says:

    I am soliciting a “book club” group just for this read! We could really get a diverse group together and I’m curious to see what other believers think about this.

Leave a Reply

